PDA

View Full Version : DD 6.5 Box Help



One Bad MOFO
04-10-2007, 03:25 AM
So I may be buying a car that I don't want a lot of extra weight in, so I don't want to do a huge system. I will probably only use my dd 6.5lt's. What I need to know is what kind of box should I put them in that would make them as loud as possible. Each would be on 150 watts.
Series
W6.5

Voice Coil Diameter
1.5"

Magnet Weight
28 oz

Power Handling RMS/Music/Peak
100/200/400

Suspension
25mm

Nominal Impedance
4.0 Ohm

DC Resistance
3.1 Ohm

Model
W6.5

Woofer Diameter
6.5"

Free Air Resonance
36 Hz

Qts
0.33

Qes
0.34

Qms
8.8

Vas
21 L

Le mH


Sensitivity
91 dB

Shipping Weight
11 lbs
they don't show the lt series on there any more so???

Immacomputer
04-10-2007, 01:01 PM
They're not going to be ridiculously loud but I would say about .5 cubes each tuned to about 40-45hz would work.

Trixter
04-10-2007, 02:18 PM
wicked one.....

One Bad MOFO
04-10-2007, 02:31 PM
They're not going to be ridiculously loud but I would say about .5 cubes each tuned to about 40-45hz would work.
half a cube each? I was originally thinking something crazy like a t-line or a horn or something.

Immacomputer
04-10-2007, 03:15 PM
Well a t-line isn't going to give you huge output. A horn might work depending on your vehicle but the amount of wood is going to really weigh it down. Horns get real big, real fast when trying to tune them low.

This horn is tuned to 40hz and was for a single 6.5" driver:
http://i16.tinypic.com/4e061pd.jpg
http://i15.tinypic.com/2h7js61.jpg

One Bad MOFO
04-10-2007, 03:17 PM
Well a t-line isn't going to give you huge output. A horn might work depending on your vehicle but the amount of wood is going to really weigh it down. Horns get real big, real fast when trying to tune them low.

This horn is tuned to 40hz and was for a single 6.5" driver:
http://i16.tinypic.com/4e061pd.jpg
http://i15.tinypic.com/2h7js61.jpg
thats kindof why i decided against the t-line. and yea that horn looks huge i don't think i want to do that. Would like an abc box work well at all?

btlking
04-10-2007, 03:20 PM
1 cube ported to 34hz :)

One Bad MOFO
04-10-2007, 03:26 PM
1 cube ported to 34hz :)
I want something kinda crazy though where people think its more than it really is.

btlking
04-10-2007, 03:27 PM
dude what happened to the box i built for them? you know the 20 minute box build that thing wangs

One Bad MOFO
04-10-2007, 03:28 PM
dude what happened to the box i built for them? you know the 20 minute box build that thing wangs
i don't really like the idea of having a duct tape box for my loud box :laugh:

btlking
04-10-2007, 03:33 PM
you should post up pics after you get home from work

One Bad MOFO
04-10-2007, 03:36 PM
you should post up pics after you get home from work
pics of what exactly?

mlstrass
04-10-2007, 06:50 PM
what kind of POS are you buying that a 75# sub/box is going to make a diff???

Ricers FTL.....LOL

Put a single 15 in there and be done with it....

60ndown
04-10-2007, 06:54 PM
id take my time and do a really good install with the 6.5s IN THE FRONT DOORS.

make sure theres no rattles (difficult), sperate front and back waves but leave o.b. and you will have very snappy and articulate bass / midbass down to about 40 hz, that can get very loud.

inapontiac
04-10-2007, 06:57 PM
tune it around 40...should seem louder than you think.

PS: can i see pictures of the lil woofer?

One Bad MOFO
04-11-2007, 02:12 AM
what kind of POS are you buying that a 75# sub/box is going to make a diff???

Ricers FTL.....LOL

Put a single 15 in there and be done with it....

ricer.... pssssssh
i'd shoot my self

id take my time and do a really good install with the 6.5s IN THE FRONT DOORS.

make sure theres no rattles (difficult), sperate front and back waves but leave o.b. and you will have very snappy and articulate bass / midbass down to about 40 hz, that can get very loud.
these speakers work best when theyre sealed or ported, i had them ib in my camaro for a while and they were loud but not enough.

tune it around 40...should seem louder than you think.

PS: can i see pictures of the lil woofer?
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/2/web/794000-794999/794480_131_full.jpg
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/2/web/794000-794999/794480_127_full.jpg
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/2/web/794000-794999/794480_129_full.jpg
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/2/web/794000-794999/794480_130_full.jpg

spljim
04-11-2007, 01:11 PM
I have a ? is that your hd3 and if so why not put it in

Skip01
04-11-2007, 01:56 PM
Get TTB to build u a box....not that much compared to normal box builders

Im sure they can build what you lookin for...no matter what people argue over here

One Bad MOFO
04-11-2007, 02:28 PM
I have a ? is that your hd3 and if so why not put it in
nope its a friends

Get TTB to build u a box....not that much compared to normal box builders

Im sure they can build what you lookin for...no matter what people argue over here
i thought about it but i don't really want to put a lot of money towards the stereo in this car, mostly just stuff I have already is what I'm trying to do.

btlking
04-11-2007, 02:34 PM
tyler come check out my new car

Skip01
04-11-2007, 04:03 PM
i thought about it but i don't really want to put a lot of money towards the stereo in this car, mostly just stuff I have already is what I'm trying to do.

"Box: ****** *** particle board box built by local guy $250"


Might as well if u spent this amount on that....it would be about the same price for a much better box:)

One Bad MOFO
04-11-2007, 05:06 PM
"Box: ****** *** particle board box built by local guy $250"


Might as well if u spent this amount on that....it would be about the same price for a much better box:)
yea i know that was teh dumbest purchace ever :suicide:
this next car though, i'm putting any money i can save up towards making it fast. In the past year, I've spend around $5k on stereo :crap: and don't really have much to show for it anymore...