PDA

View Full Version : would this weird trunk design work?



aaron7114
04-09-2007, 07:49 PM
http://img360.imageshack.us/img360/6950/newboxwallcopy2copyhn9.th.png (http://img360.imageshack.us/my.php?image=newboxwallcopy2copyhn9.png)

Alright I have built a box in my trunk already....and its not coming out...lol. Had to actually built it inside my trunk. Now I am wanting to seal it off completely where it is pretty much a wall...just not a wall right behind the front seat.

Here is a 3D sketchup of my CURRENT box
http://img365.imageshack.us/img365/6631/finalboxcopy2yi3.th.jpg (http://img365.imageshack.us/my.php?image=finalboxcopy2yi3.jpg)

In the picture the black and blue is the box inside my trunk now. The red is what I am going to add. Then the green is just the front (blue) piece.

That box is supposed to be tuned to 35 hz...but it peaks at 47 so I think its actually tuned a little bit higher. I want to keep the port width at 5 inches so I can use my existing front piece. Then of course I know I would have to redo the port inside the box.

So my question is would this box work? My box is already odd shaped and just wanted to know if you can go as odd shaped as you want on a ported box. I know you can pretty much do whatever on sealed box...i just didn't know how much that went for ported boxes.

If it will work is there any way someone could tune it for me? However the red measurments are not exact measurements i was just gettin an idea. So if someone thinks they can tune it for me I will get some exact measurements. I want it tuned fairly high like it is now (peaks at 47 hz) then I want to make a simple plug where I can lower the tuning for daily.

This is for two 15" L5s.

Thank you.

edit: just noticed one problem already. On the new front...the 4 inches on both sides would be 8 inches total. So 40 minus 8 is 32. Which is not enough room for the subs and port. Gotta go look again...

aaron7114
04-09-2007, 11:29 PM
Alright I really dont know how I am going to be able to do this with the way my trunk is made. Its got that hump. Thats about 3 1/2 or 4 inches. Which does not give me enough room to put my subs and port...unless the port width was like 2 inches.

blackbonnie
04-09-2007, 11:34 PM
what kind of car, and maybe try to get some pics of an empty trunk of your make and model

Decipha
04-09-2007, 11:34 PM
what trunk is this going in? shoot me a PM with exact measurements and what you want the box to be tuned to and i'll give you the port length

Decipha
04-09-2007, 11:35 PM
is this hump you refering to the tire well?

req
04-09-2007, 11:36 PM
what, you gonna just extend the front of the box to get more airspace?

i guess it should work. dunno what your tuning will equate to afterward tho.

aaron7114
04-09-2007, 11:36 PM
Its a 1994 Honda Accord

http://img113.imageshack.us/img113/3753/dsc00002copy8au.th.jpg (http://img113.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc00002copy8au.jpg)

I already looked and it looks like I could take those sorta triangle shaped pieces off. The ones right by the hump that is 32 inches.

blackbonnie
04-09-2007, 11:41 PM
is the hump right in the center? think about making a false floor and leveling it off, and mounting your subs a different way

Decipha
04-09-2007, 11:42 PM
ah ha

aaron7114
04-09-2007, 11:45 PM
is the hump right in the center? think about making a false floor and leveling it off, and mounting your subs a different way

You can see the humps I am talking about in the picture. Its the one closest to the backseat. I was planning on taking those side pieces off, thats beside the opening is up to the cabin and having the front piece cover that entire area but that wont work with those humps there....unless like i said my port width was 2 inches.

aaron7114
04-09-2007, 11:50 PM
Look at this.
http://img360.imageshack.us/img360/9839/trunkcopynq3.th.jpg (http://img360.imageshack.us/my.php?image=trunkcopynq3.jpg)

The humps spray painted in red are the ones that I am talking about. The parts that are spray painted in blue I think would be easy to remove....just a few bolts.

blackbonnie
04-09-2007, 11:53 PM
oh on you side walls of your trunk. i thought it was on the floor. well your smallest area left to right is 32", why dont you make a box 32" wide by X"long by 16" tall and have the port run out the side. then you will have gaps right there. fill those in with a flase floor (one on each side) and use one or both sides to mount other components (ex. amps, crossovers, extra battery, etc.)

aaron7114
04-09-2007, 11:56 PM
oh on you side walls of your trunk. i thought it was on the floor. well your smallest area left to right is 32", why dont you make a box 32" wide by X"long by 16" tall and have the port run out the side. then you will have gaps right there. fill those in with a flase floor (one on each side) and use one or both sides to mount other components (ex. amps, crossovers, extra battery, etc.)

I already have most of the box in there though.

This box is in my trunk already....and its not comin out lol.
http://img365.imageshack.us/img365/6631/finalboxcopy2yi3.th.jpg (http://img365.imageshack.us/my.php?image=finalboxcopy2yi3.jpg)

I am just wanting to extend it farther where it completely sealed off from the trunk and at the same time get some more air space.

req
04-09-2007, 11:57 PM
ok.

what do you want to do? remove the walls of the trunk?

i dont even understand what the hell you are talking about man :confused:

aaron7114
04-09-2007, 11:59 PM
ok.

what do you want to do? remove the walls of the trunk?

i dont even understand what the hell you are talking about man :confused:

No. I just wanted to extend my current box out into the cabin to seal off the trunk completely. So basically remove the front piece of my current box...build the side, bottom, and top walls onto the existing box then put the front piece back on. But then after I started looking at my measurments I noticed that those humps closest to the cabin is going to keep me from doing it.

blackbonnie
04-10-2007, 12:01 AM
so either build a new box, or dont seal it off. you cant cut your wheel wells up to mod your box, thats just dumb.

aaron7114
04-10-2007, 12:02 AM
so either build a new box, or dont seal it off. you cant cut your wheel wells up to mod your box, thats just dumb.

Building a new box wouldn't help me seal it off.

blackbonnie
04-10-2007, 12:05 AM
people dont just mod a pre-fab box to seal off their trunk, they make templates and make a new box, and panels, and other stuff to seal it off. if your having problems with those diagonal brackets right behind your seat. tear your carpet out, and take a grinder to them.

aaron7114
04-10-2007, 12:07 AM
people dont just mod a pre-fab box to seal off their trunk, they make templates and make a new box, and panels, and other stuff to seal it off. if your having problems with those diagonal brackets right behind your seat. tear your carpet out, and take a grinder to them.

I'm not having a problem with the diagonal brackets. I already said they would be easy to take out.

When I made this thread I hadn't noticed yet that I wasn't going to be able to do it.

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/4992/l5a98c9b8cdac6b8cf9b075dp5.th.jpg (http://img261.imageshack.us/my.php?image=l5a98c9b8cdac6b8cf9b075dp5.jpg)

blackbonnie
04-10-2007, 12:11 AM
okay

req
04-10-2007, 12:14 AM
make


new



box? :confused:

aaron7114
04-10-2007, 05:55 PM
make


new



box? :confused:

I still wouldn't be able to seal the trunk off.