PDA

View Full Version : Small Box CC wants 2 in Port??



drifterman33
04-05-2007, 10:43 PM
Ok so i went to CC today and I met this new installer that just moved from callifornia or somewhere and he said that he trained with Mad Mike from pimp my ride....and anyways he looked at my setup and he gave me some suggestions like raise the box off of the ground so the woofers wont hit the ground......the major suggestion was he wanted to cut 2 in tall slots on the side of the box (a slot from front to back 2in tall) if you view my profile a pic of my box should be there...do you think i should do this.....I have .75 cu ft of air space and it is so small because it has to fit under the rear seat....do you guys think i should cut the slots on both sides????

Twistid
04-05-2007, 10:44 PM
um no, dont just randomly cut slots into your box

Chevyaudio
04-05-2007, 10:45 PM
lol...sounds like that guy you talked to knows as much about car audio as Mad Mike does. Do not listen to him.

DeViOuSoNe
04-05-2007, 10:48 PM
That's pretty dumb...But i've heard stupider..
A CC guy tried to tell me I could wire 2 4 OHM DVC R's to 2 ohms..I finally Just left and told him he was right.

drifterman33
04-05-2007, 10:52 PM
ok so do you think there is any way to make this sealed box into ported?? Also they wernt going to be random....The guy said to cut out rectangles 2inches tall and how ever deap the box is wide and cut it on the side top of the box??

Max_Power
04-05-2007, 10:57 PM
might want to look into external areo tubes.....probly the safest route.....

partsexpress.com is where to find them...

PV Audio
04-05-2007, 10:59 PM
You don't make sealed boxes into ported boxes. You build a ported box. You can make a ported into a sealed easily, but not the other way around.

That is if you don't use round ports.

dumple
04-05-2007, 11:01 PM
lol...sounds like that guy you talked to knows as much about car audio as Mad Mike does. Do not listen to him.

BUT the tv was spinnin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


btw dont cut random holes in ur box its made how its made that way for a reason

drifterman33
04-06-2007, 09:28 AM
So if used round ports it would be fine??? What size?

Blove1991
04-06-2007, 11:08 AM
Theres more that goes into than just round ports....you got length of the port to get a desired tuning and all this

baseballer1100
04-06-2007, 12:14 PM
Interesting.

drifterman33
04-06-2007, 04:02 PM
so wait i can put round ports in the sides if they are the correct length??? or will that just ruin the box?