PDA

View Full Version : I think I bought some badd speakers !!!

Pro_built7
04-02-2007, 03:06 PM
hey guys im pretty new to car audio, but not to cars in general, anyway i jsut bought 4 new Hifonics 6.5" Zeus 3 way speakers for my camaro, and i noticed even though they are rated 75rms and 375 peak they still distort when i turn them up just like the stock speakers did, my head unit is a lanzar VBD1000MP3 and rated for 200W what do you think

skadude016
04-02-2007, 03:07 PM
your clipping the head unit. if you get an amp dedicated just for those speakers. they will be louder and wont distort. as long as you set the amp up correectly :)

DejaWiz
04-02-2007, 03:08 PM
Probably has to do with your HU. A lot of cheaper HU's will distort the signal at a much lower volume than a quality HU. Not trying to insult you, it's just the way it tends to be. Are you running with the volume at about 60% or more?

goodstuff
04-02-2007, 03:10 PM
Get a new H/U and a four channel amp. Stay away from Lanzar...

skadude016
04-02-2007, 03:11 PM
or he could not even use the H.U. for power ;)

goodstuff
04-02-2007, 04:14 PM
^yeah that would be your best bet....especially if you keep running that same H/U...

Pro_built7
04-02-2007, 04:27 PM
thanks for the help guys, what exactly is clipping ? it seems to distort at about 30 out of 39 on volume. i was thinking on getting a 300 watt 4 channel hifonics amp to amp them, logically it doesn't seem like adding more power would fix the problem tho, but idk much so let me know what u guys think thanks !

Pro_built7
04-02-2007, 04:29 PM
^yeah that would be your best bet....especially if you keep running that same H/U...

ya man i dont really want to buy a new h/u i got this one for 50$, just want a good system, what do you think about 2 10in square hifonics brutus subs that are 500rms x 2 in the hatch of a camaro ?

jmanpc
04-02-2007, 04:32 PM