PDA

View Full Version : how do I ad the driver displacement?



jeremiah
03-31-2007, 05:05 PM
on this http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html help?


:crying: :confused:

jeremiah
03-31-2007, 11:31 PM
^^^

BiZkiT8u
03-31-2007, 11:36 PM
You'll have to use a different program, because you can't on that one.

jeremiah
03-31-2007, 11:53 PM
what if the sub is 0.473 and I ned a 4cu.ft box so I make the box 4.473cu.ft?
will that work?

jeremiah
04-01-2007, 04:13 PM
^^

Trixter
04-01-2007, 06:16 PM
what if the sub is 0.473 and I ned a 4cu.ft box so I make the box 4.473cu.ft?
will that work?


yep

jeremiah
04-02-2007, 01:04 AM
Ok

Immacomputer
04-02-2007, 06:30 AM
What sub do you own that is .4 cubic feet?

tehbeermang
04-02-2007, 09:36 AM
What sub do you own that is .4 cubic feet?

Orion H2s have significant motor assemblies.

The tuning frequency generated by that calc will be different than actual, since it doesn't exclude displacement from the port calculation.

jeremiah
04-02-2007, 01:11 PM
What sub do you own that is .4 cubic feet?

I don't have it yet but it's a mach5 mj-18

Immacomputer
04-02-2007, 08:31 PM
I'm assuming you're going to be using two of them? .4 cubic feet seems rather large for a single sub.

jeremiah
04-03-2007, 12:13 AM
I'm assuming you're going to be using two of them? .4 cubic feet seems rather large for a single sub.

NO just one 0.473 is what mark sad

jeremiah
04-03-2007, 12:19 AM
what dos that not lock right?

Omarvelous
04-03-2007, 09:47 AM
http://www.mach5audio.com/product_info.php?cPath=48&products_id=38&osCsid=6afc1

Doesn't look like a .4 sub to me.... .2 at best.

jeremiah
04-03-2007, 12:22 PM
yeah I know but mark said "871/1728=0.473 cu. ft." so?

jeremiah
04-03-2007, 02:12 PM
Orion H2s have significant motor assemblies.

The tuning frequency generated by that calc will be different than actual, since it doesn't exclude displacement from the port calculation.

so how do I make a 4cu.ft NET ported box tund to 30hz for a mj-18 on that calc

jeremiah
04-03-2007, 10:51 PM
^^

jeremiah
04-03-2007, 11:35 PM
****ing bump

jeremiah
04-05-2007, 09:25 PM
^^

Immacomputer
04-05-2007, 10:29 PM
What the **** are you trying to do? What don't you get? Get the real driver displacement and design an enclosure with the net volume taking into consideration the driver displacement. It's really not confusing at all.

c_hayhurst
04-05-2007, 11:32 PM
All you have to do is this: add the driver's displacement + the cubic feet you want from the enclosure...= gross box volume = RE's "Box Volume (Ft3)" figure.

Example: If you want 2 cubic feet and your driver displaces .4 cubic feet, you need to design your box so RE's calculator gives a value of 2.4 cubic feet of box volume.

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 12:06 AM
All you have to do is this: add the driver's displacement + the cubic feet you want from the enclosure...= gross box volume = RE's "Box Volume (Ft3)" figure.

Example: If you want 2 cubic feet and your driver displaces .4 cubic feet, you need to design your box so RE's calculator gives a value of 2.4 cubic feet of box volume.

think you that is what I wanted to know:pissed: .......

so it will still be tuned to 30HZ right

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 12:07 AM
What the **** are you trying to do? What don't you get? Get the real driver displacement and design an enclosure with the net volume taking into consideration the driver displacement. It's really not confusing at all.



:suicide:

c_hayhurst
04-06-2007, 10:09 AM
think you that is what I wanted to know:pissed: .......

so it will still be tuned to 30HZ right

You'll have to mess with the enclosure's dimensions to get the tuning and cubic feet you want to achieve. The best way to change the tuning is to fiddle with the port dimensions.

OMFG, I actually answered a question instead of asked one. Yay!

:graduate:

Woodmister
04-06-2007, 11:37 AM
Be careful with that box building program, I recommend checking it with a few others and WinISD before you actually build...

Always check the cuft by hand...

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 01:23 PM
Be careful with that box building program, I recommend checking it with a few others and WinISD before you actually build...

Always check the cuft by hand...

what's WinISD link?.....so what do you think the mj-18 is 0.473 http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html

my goal is to make a 4cu.ft box tuned to 29hz NET so what do I do make the port
longer? shorter?

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 01:27 PM
WTF it did int keep the box the way I made it? WTF?

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 01:33 PM
KO the box I made on the http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html
is 34"W/16"H/box top depth is 14" box bottom depth is 27" with a 3"W port
put it in the calc and se if it a good box.... think'you

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 01:37 PM
O and square port length 2 is 3" the box it tund to 29HZ

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 01:46 PM
You'll have to mess with the enclosure's dimensions to get the tuning and cubic feet you want to achieve. The best way to change the tuning is to fiddle with the port dimensions.

OMFG, I actually answered a question instead of asked one. Yay!

:graduate:

what is OMFG? order my fart gas ???

c_hayhurst
04-06-2007, 04:04 PM
what is OMFG? order my fart gas ???

Exactly. Good guess!

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 07:40 PM
Exactly. Good guess!

think'you im good at this:graduate:

Blove1991
04-06-2007, 11:21 PM
Mark is a canadian IIRC and that .473 might of been in litres or whatever

jeremiah
04-06-2007, 11:32 PM
Mark is a canadian IIRC and that .473 might of been in litres or whatever

what? .. so what is the driver displacement of the mj-18

jeremiah
04-07-2007, 12:04 AM
well it's either a mj-18 in a angled box(cramed in thar) or a maw-15 in this http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=35&Eh=16&Dia=9&Xmax=13&Vd=0.4&NumW=1&Vb=3&Fb=30&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

I just dont know what will give me the most SQL

edit. waall I like 33HZ moor so this >> http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=35&Eh=16&Dia=9&Xmax=13&Vd=0.4&NumW=1&Vb=3.5&Fb=33&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

jeremiah
04-07-2007, 12:07 AM
will I notice a BIG dif going frum a maw-12 with 350Wrms to a
maw-15 and 500Wrms

jeremiah
04-07-2007, 10:07 PM
so what do you think is the driver displacement is for the mj-18??
where is mark MARK!!!! MARK!!!!!MARKK!!!!!!! he will be hear in a Lil bit

jeremiah
04-08-2007, 03:26 PM
....hamm...no mark? I will PM hem in a lil bit

bigwheel15
04-08-2007, 04:27 PM
....hamm...no mark? I will PM hem in a lil bit

Maybe try asking here?

http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/forum/index.php?showforum=50

mrogowski
04-09-2007, 07:57 AM
Jeremiah, what are you trying to achieve? Why don't you post the maximum dimensions of what you can tolerate in your vehicle and which driver you plan to go with. Folks here can then come up with a properly tuned box and shoot you the plans to build it. No more problems.

BTW, the MAW-15 has a displacement of 0.4cu. ft.; the MJ-18 displaces 0.47cu. ft.

Best,
Mark

jeremiah
04-09-2007, 08:56 AM
Jeremiah, what are you trying to achieve? Why don't you post the maximum dimensions of what you can tolerate in your vehicle and which driver you plan to go with. Folks here can then come up with a properly tuned box and shoot you the plans to build it. No more problems.

BTW, the MAW-15 has a displacement of 0.4cu. ft.; the MJ-18 displaces 0.47cu. ft.

Best,
Mark

will I tried to post a link to a box that I made but it did int work but hear R the
dimensions for my trunk 32W/30D/16.5H

jeremiah
04-09-2007, 09:01 AM
the box I made on RE was 32W 16.5H box top depth 14" box bottom depth 27"
port 3"W

jeremiah
04-10-2007, 09:48 PM
^^^