PDA

View Full Version : New box in progress need help



RipDaJacka
03-30-2007, 09:48 PM
wells I got me some 3/4 MDF, screws, wood glue, silicone caulk, sandpaper and filler today and started on a box to tuck neatly into my Monte's *** end. Im tryin to give it all a walled off look.. but before cutting the holes tomorrow i need some help
I need to calculate my box so i can tune it

34 1/2 Wide x 16 1/4 tall x 14 1/2 deep. All internal measurements so no need to account for the mdf sides..and I would like to tune it to the low 30's for my SX's Daily.. right around 30hz actually
all help will be rewarded with an E-High five

04_edge
03-30-2007, 09:51 PM
download win isd, and then check out ngsm's how to deal in the enclosure section, i used it today, it helped me out A LOT.

Qbenjamin
03-30-2007, 09:59 PM
wells I got me some 3/4 MDF, screws, wood glue, silicone caulk, sandpaper and filler today and started on a box to tuck neatly into my Monte's *** end. Im tryin to give it all a walled off look.. but before cutting the holes tomorrow i need some help
I need to calculate my box so i can tune it

34 1/2 Wide x 16 1/4 tall x 14 1/2 deep. All internal measurements so no need to account for the mdf sides..and I would like to tune it to the low 30's for my SX's Daily.. right around 30hz actually
all help will be rewarded with an E-High five


Wish you would have seen my for sale post a while ago. We have the same car and I have a vented box that fits perfect in our car's. 2.1 CUF per chamber tuned to 32 HZ. Look at my sig and then click on my cardomain link. The box is for sale, as I am going to do a full plexi-glass box here in the next couple of months. $125 shipped.

Qbenjamin
03-30-2007, 10:00 PM
Also, do you play SOCOM?

RipDaJacka
03-30-2007, 10:38 PM
Also, do you play SOCOM?

No sir why? may I ask?

Lol I have had a pic of you car saved on my computer for 2 weeks! Searchin for future mods and saved you monte as reference.

Man I would have got the box if I didnt just spend $65 on wood and box building products


anyone wanna calculate it for me??:)

Qbenjamin
03-30-2007, 10:46 PM
No sir why? may I ask?

Lol I have had a pic of you car saved on my computer for 2 weeks! Searchin for future mods and saved you monte as reference.

Man I would have got the box if I didnt just spend $65 on wood and box building products


anyone wanna calculate it for me??:)

Visit pfyc.com and look at the new taillightsfor our cars, I have mine on backorder. Deg, they are sweet. About time to. They are nice LED's.

RipDaJacka
03-30-2007, 11:07 PM
They are killer.. I cant swing $260 for em tho.. maybe if they had the black/chrome ones I would part ways with that much.. Hit me on PM's

can anyone calculate the box Im building and tell me wut size slot port i need for 30Hz

04_edge
03-30-2007, 11:28 PM
nvm, im to tired to do this right now.

TunedPerfect
03-31-2007, 12:57 AM
Definitely get winISD or AJ designer

Your box volume is 4.7cu ft. wo/ factoring in port or sub displacement. After displacement I am guessing about 3-3.5cu foot which is a good sized box as for port tuning...are you doing round ports or square vents? What size port/vent do you want ex 4" 3" etc.

Again check out ngsm's enclosure guide or the12volt.coms enclosure guide both great tools.

other than that x2 on being too tired.

hope that helps a bit

RipDaJacka
03-31-2007, 01:27 AM
Thanks sir..

3three or 4four? umm it doesnt matter to me, lets go four for fun so its gonne be 1 big azz rectangle port

so 4in Wide X ?Tall X ?Long

RipDaJacka
03-31-2007, 11:37 AM
Bump?

RipDaJacka
03-31-2007, 09:25 PM
soem help?

RipDaJacka
04-01-2007, 03:18 PM
Imma do 2 2-3 inch ports.. 16 1/4in Tall x 2or3wide x ? deep should they be? gonna do it tomorrow! Imma do 14 if there is no reply

RipDaJacka
04-02-2007, 12:37 AM
anyone wanna swinga quick calculation on that for me?

imma do two ports both 2.5w x 16.25t x 14L sound good? a simple yes or no or a tip or suggestion would make me smile..

RipDaJacka
04-02-2007, 02:12 AM
I used a few links and was wondering if my calcs were right

I ended up with a 4.7cuft enclosure and around 4.4 after displacement

I calculated that 2 slot ports 2.5w X 21L X 16.25T will tune to 32Hz

that would tune same as 1 big port divided by 2 right?

rpfuror
04-02-2007, 04:51 PM
your kind of doing it backwards, but here you go (very subjective):

you can get 3.25 cu/ft @34hz with a slot
Slot Vent Width: 2.50 inches
Slot Vent Length: 18.00 inches

you can get 3.5 cu/ft @34hz with 2
Round Port Diameter: 4.00
Round Port Length: 14.25

RipDaJacka
04-03-2007, 12:39 AM
how was I doing it incorrectly?

what program or link do you use for your calculations? Im really interested in learning this stuff for myself

rpfuror
04-03-2007, 06:54 AM
I have a program I made based on the calculations

Here
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_amps_pages.php?page_id=30

&
Here
http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm

RipDaJacka
04-05-2007, 12:20 AM
My ports are bout 20inches.. which I guess took my box down to around 3.25 like you stated.. I will have pics up l8r