PDA

View Full Version : 2 subs in ported box=2x the box volume?



c_hayhurst
03-27-2007, 05:23 PM
I am thinking about getting two 1000W RMS 12" subs, but only if I can build a ported box that fits my trunk. At http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html, I can calculate the size of a box.

Now, I am assuming each sub will need 1.5 cubic feet at 35Hz.

If I were to make one box to contain 2 subs, does that mean I can design a box with 3 cubic feet at 35Hz, and it will perform the same as a one-speaker box with 1.5 cubic feet?

I'll laugh my *** off if I can make this box and fit it in the trunk of my Sentra. :veryhapp:

bk12321
03-27-2007, 05:26 PM
if u have the same power going to 1 sub vs the same power going to 2 subs, essentially if every other factor was identical you would have double the output

PatFitz9
03-27-2007, 06:01 PM
yes, having 2 subs requires twice the volume... but for ported boxes, the port length and area should change from one to two subs.

c_hayhurst
03-27-2007, 06:37 PM
yes, having 2 subs requires twice the volume... but for ported boxes, the port length and area should change from one to two subs.

Uhhh...how do I calculate for that, then?