PDA

View Full Version : Changed only the brain, antenna, remote from viper 560 to 791, what happened?



ace_800
03-20-2007, 05:10 PM
As the title states, I changed out the 560 stuff for the 791. For some reason I had to cut the hood pin switch cause it would shut off when I tried to use the remote start. It was not doing this with the 560 and I had no problems with it. I did not touch anything but the brain and antenna. I did not mess with any wires besides plugging them in. What could have happened?

hardhitta47
03-24-2007, 03:31 AM
Are you sure all of the wiring is supposed to be exactly the same from the 560 to the 791? might wanna email them to make sure

The hood pin switch for the may need to be normally open for the 791, but normally closed (or grounded) for the 560? idk

azbass
03-24-2007, 10:40 AM
first off never change brains, thinking the wireing will be 100% the same.

THUNDERBIRD
03-25-2007, 08:30 PM
first off never change brains, thinking the wireing will be 100% the same.

x2 i know you can do that for the 791 to the 5900

atoz350
03-25-2007, 08:39 PM
Have you programmed it yet?

ace_800
03-27-2007, 11:45 AM
I have already contacted DEI, they said I can replace the 560 to the 791 or python 881. Just not to the new 5900 or whatever it is. The install guide for the 560 and 791 are exactly the same besides the antenna and remote. Nothing else is different and the wiring is the same.

Vestax
04-03-2007, 02:19 PM
If the gray wire for the hood pin is grounded on the 791xv or 881xp, then it will inhibit remote start. Leaving it disconnected will do nothing. I would see if that gray wire is being grounded anywhere else. Otherwise, you need to make sure that the neutral safety switch is grounded, the tach or tachless is hooked up, and the brake wire and bypasses are properly wired for remote start to work.