PDA

View Full Version : I need a lot of help, yes i'm a noob

t-money
03-13-2007, 05:40 PM
i know quite a bit about car audio but know nothing about ht or home audio. I have around $2000.00 to spend and all i have is a dvd player. Can someone tell me what names are good and possibly what would be a good set up. I'm thinking about running a kicker cvx 15 for a ht woofer. I really don't know jack about ht and home audio, can someone please help.

JimJ
03-13-2007, 06:31 PM
Are you wanting a 5.1 channel setup? I assumed with the DVD player, you'd be going that way...

t-money
03-13-2007, 10:17 PM
Are you wanting a 5.1 channel setup? I assumed with the DVD player, you'd be going that way...

i honestly don't know much about home audio. I want my movies to have surround sound and my home stereo to pound. Do i do both seperately or can i use the same woofer for ht as for my home audio? I really don't know what names are good. I don't need top of the line stuff, just good stuff. Like how i wouldn't recommend sony for car audio to someone with a little money and i woudln't offer them a jl 13w7, something in the middle. thanks for any help in advanced? i have tried to search but don't know where to start.

JimJ
03-13-2007, 11:44 PM
I need to know a budget, and we'll go from there :)

thylantyr
03-14-2007, 12:23 AM
I need to know a budget, and we'll go from there :)

Read post #1 ? :laugh:

JimJ
03-14-2007, 12:43 AM
Self-pwnt :)

Two grand, huh...

Outlaw Audio pre/processor + power amplifier
Homebuilt speakers, something like the Lytle 5's on Partsexpress

Have fun :)

t-money
03-14-2007, 11:33 AM
so names like sony, toshiba and others are not very good names. Should i be buying seperate pieces or can i buy a package from just one name. I hate not knowing about ht and home audio, i don't like starting from the beginning but i guess i have no choice

Pistonsfan70
03-14-2007, 11:34 AM
Piece by piece is better...start with a receiever....then it'll all come together

JimJ