PDA

View Full Version : port area ?



Decipha
03-08-2007, 11:29 PM
Im building a new box for my 2x xxx 15s since my last box blew up... im done fiberglassing the spare tire well and now im on to the box part... im wondering what would be the optimum port area, the box is 10 cubes after all displacements with the port i have designed now... 130 sq in @ 33hz, i was thinking i may be better off going with a bigger port say 200 sq in... any body have any insight on this?

Wkbdkid
03-09-2007, 12:06 AM
200 might be a lil much and that would be one big *** port @33hz.lol

ngsm13
03-09-2007, 12:07 AM
I'd suggest 180 sq. in. tops...

I'd shoot for ~150

nG

Decipha
03-09-2007, 01:07 AM
yeah right now i got it at 130 i just wanted to 'optimze it' you think 130s fine?

ngsm13
03-09-2007, 01:08 AM
Yes.

nG

Texas Tech
03-09-2007, 12:12 PM
i heard like 13-15 inch in sq ft for port area for every cubic ft of volume of the enclosure. 150 sounds perfect i would think.