PDA

View Full Version : Mazda3 w/ Bose System Question



stUNts
03-07-2007, 04:39 PM
Was not too sure where to post this so I decided this may be as good a place as any , but I had a question that I was hoping someone could give me info on.

Im currently driving a 99 civic hatchback with a kenwood HU, boston accoustic componants in the front and some boston 6x9s in the back. these have their own amp. for subs i have two 10" bostons also with their own amp.

im thinking about selling this car and buying a new mazda3 with the bose system stock. my question is if its worth trying to keep my amps to install into the stock system. im pretty sure it doesnt have its own sub, so id like to keep my subs with their amp. what about putting another amp onto the stock bose system?

anyhow i didnt know if anyone else has ever dealt with something similar to this or had any advice or info i should consider or even where to look for that matter. I appreciate all constructive comments and advice. thanks! :cool:

jmanpc
03-07-2007, 04:41 PM
Skip the bose system, put in your own stuff.

Bose may sound pleasing to the ear, but it doesn't reproduce music accurately.

stUNts
03-07-2007, 05:24 PM
thnx for the input jmanpc

thats what i initially wanted to do. the only thing is i cant get the options on the car package that i want without the bose system. i know im not really going to be able to replace the HU seeing how integrated its supposed to be, its prolly just not worth the trouble, but as far as the speakers go then...

is bose really that good?
compared to BA?

i dunno, maybe i can talk to the dealership and get them to leave out the bose system but still get that package and then just transplant my system into the new car. unless someone can recommend something better. :up2somet:

Gary S
03-07-2007, 08:33 PM
I would not try to integrate an after market system with oem. Results can be poor. What about a second opinion... can you talk to another dealer?

konechiwa
03-07-2007, 10:36 PM
Skip the bose system, put in your own stuff.

Bose may sound pleasing to the ear, but it doesn't reproduce music accurately.


x2.

Your boston stuff will probably be better...Bose is alright stuff, but it's WAY overpriced. Why not just keep your entire system unless it sounds bad...

if it aint broke dont fix it

///M5
03-07-2007, 11:16 PM
The bose system in there isn't even alright, it stinks IMO.

zSnb
03-08-2007, 01:01 AM
i agree bose sux and anything boston makes thats aftermarket will stomp it. my friend has a Mazda6 and i recall him telling me something about a dash kit for it. I know the 3 and the 6 both have one huge piece of plastic for both the head unit and the heat/air which makes it really hard to get an aftermarket h/u. However, i know that several companies make processors that work with stock systems. You can have after market sound with a stock look if you go with something like this:

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_cleansweep_pages.php?page_id=79

bose also uses a separate little amp for each speaker. you can just ditch all that junk like i did with mine in my old bonneville and put some nice comps in there. problem solved.

pickup1
03-08-2007, 01:14 AM
if you get the bose,you'll have to rewire the whole car when you put aftermarket electronics.

stUNts
03-08-2007, 12:07 PM
ok, thanks for all the input guys, i really do appreciate it.

going to talk to the dealer this weekend and see if i can get that package and have them leave the bose system out. for some reason it seems like u cant get certain features unless u throw in the bose system, but I'll see if they make exceptions.

my next question, seems to be moving futher away from a speaker discussion, and i appologize for that, should have posted in general i guess. but anyhow...

is it possible to keep the stock HU and replace everything else (speakers, amps, etc)??
i guess ill lose my ability to set my crossovers, but if it starts to bother me, i can look into what zSnb posted and replace the HU later. I just dont want to create any more technical issues that i absolutely have to.

zSnb
03-08-2007, 02:46 PM
crossovers on your amp should help you out pretty well.

crx4luke
03-08-2007, 10:28 PM
There is a dash kit for the 3. Its not the same as the 6 with is about $230 more expensive just for the kit. Metra makes the kit for the 3 and i must say that it looks pretty good. You may or may not want to modify it if you're putting in a new radio.

You'll be better off replacing the radio and the bose system that's in it. If you get the car with the bose system it has some better openings for aftermarket speakers than the non bose. Non bose mazdas have 5x7 openings in the front and rear doors, and the bose ones have 6.5" openings in the front doors.

I really like the 3, especially the wagon/hatch version. If you get an alarm on it though, that is kind of a tricky install.


Are you looking at the mazdaspeed version?

Here's a link to a pretty clean looking 3 with a full install done to it.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2208988

stUNts
03-09-2007, 12:07 PM
oh nice info. i appreciate that.

i wasnt really looking at the speed version just leaning towards the 3 touring 5door.
whats up with the alarm now?

crx4luke
03-09-2007, 10:23 PM
The alarm system isn't actually that bad to install. The only real issue is that the wires that hook up to the door triggers rest as a grounded circuit, and when the door is opened they go to an open circuit. The way you get it to trigger on the alarm system is by running 12 volts through 1000 ohm resistors on to each wire, and then hook up the positive trigger wire from the alarm to each door trigger wire. Kind of a weird thing to have to do, but it works.

Other than that you can easily get the alarm completely hidden up in the dash.

Akula Class
04-24-2007, 02:53 AM
You purchase the car yet?