PDA

View Full Version : GlideTouch - Good or Not?



tankertoad
02-27-2007, 07:31 PM
Is this a desirable feature (according to those who actually own/owned it) and how exactly do you use it? Or should I steer clear?

iamamp3pimp
02-27-2007, 07:34 PM
kind of hard to operate when driving a bumpy road imo.

jmanpc
02-27-2007, 07:36 PM
I liked it. Most people didn't, but I actually found it easy to use once you figure it out.

Chevyaudio
02-27-2007, 07:39 PM
I currently own a 9855. I personally would rather not have it like pimp said, its hard to opperate while driving especially on a bumpy road, all it takes is one slip and you are in the wrong menu, plus you have to scroll alot just to return to previious menus.

thesandman
02-27-2007, 07:39 PM
I liked it. Most people didn't, but I actually found it easy to use once you figure it out.


x2

phantom240
02-27-2007, 07:42 PM
Its nice when you figure it out... but on bumpy roads ftl... and figuring it out ftl. I like my 9856 just fine, best unit ive owned so far.

azbass
02-27-2007, 07:43 PM
no it ****** ***.

alpine stoped it iirc

Chevyaudio
02-27-2007, 07:44 PM
yep...only the 06's had glidetouch.

phantom240
02-27-2007, 07:55 PM
Lies.

The '05s had glide touch. The '06 models didnt. I have a 9856 (I.E. '06 model)

Radridd
02-27-2007, 09:01 PM
Love my 9855 HU but if I could change one feature I would lose the glide touch. It is easy to get use to but near impossible while driving or when cold. Not much of an issue since I do not make adjustments while driving. It is however a very good HU and SQ and adjustability is excellent.

phantom240
02-27-2007, 09:05 PM
Yes. In my next setup I hope to get a super high end alpine (im an alpine freak) that has the ability to go active, like the 7998.

subbin_n_da_rex
02-27-2007, 09:08 PM
I liked it. Most people didn't, but I actually found it easy to use once you figure it out.

x3

explorer2
02-27-2007, 09:09 PM
I tried one out at a local store and could not see it working in my truck. Besides bumpy roads who knows how long that touch sensitive strip will last. I opted for another unit with normal pushbuttons.

Platestacker45
02-27-2007, 09:16 PM
Works fine for me, most features you can just press the option you want like a regular button. I think it looks a lot cleaner than the button ones too.

Columbus45
02-27-2007, 11:57 PM
i have had a 9855 for about a year and its pretty easy to use but like everyone said bumpy roads **** bad