PDA

View Full Version : video card questions



traksta15
02-14-2007, 05:30 PM
I'm trying to get my computer's video onto my t.v. and what i've found from my research so far (not a big computer guy) is that I need a new video card. My t.v. has a s-video hook up. I don't wanna spend a lot of money on this so money is a factor. I don't really know how much will get me a great video card or a crappy video card. Any suggestions/links is/are greatly appreciated-thanks in advance!

tEh koRnDog
02-14-2007, 05:31 PM
i got my laptop hooked up to my tv and i didnt need a new card, all you need is the s-video hookup

I/m me on aim, z6koRnStalk9z

traksta15
02-14-2007, 05:34 PM
but my computer doesn't have a s-video output, is there still a way around it?

tEh koRnDog
02-14-2007, 05:36 PM
but my computer doesn't have a s-video output, is there still a way around it?

oh well i didnt know that, im not sure then, if it did, then youd be set

traksta15
02-14-2007, 05:39 PM
can anybody recommend me a good video card? My buddy's laptop had an s-video output and we still couldn't get it to work. Do you have to change certain settings for it to work? Thanks for the quick replies btw

tEh koRnDog
02-14-2007, 05:40 PM
can anybody recommend me a good video card? My buddy's laptop had an s-video output and we still couldn't get it to work. Do you have to change certain settings for it to work? Thanks for the quick replies btw

if it has the output, then yes you have to change a few settings but its easy

traksta15
02-14-2007, 05:43 PM
which ones?? bump for recommendations.........

.::DuD3::.
02-14-2007, 05:44 PM
do you have dvi out?

traksta15
02-14-2007, 05:49 PM
do you have dvi out?

no, not that i know of. my computers at my dorm and i'm at my reg. house. But i've never seen that kind of hook up on my comp.

.::DuD3::.
02-14-2007, 05:55 PM
well how are you trying to hook it via your tv? what jack are you trying to access?

phyphoestilic
02-14-2007, 06:00 PM
do u know if ur using AGP or Pci-Express?

phyphoestilic
02-14-2007, 06:05 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814127243
If ur using PCI-Express 16x

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814122222
If ur using AGP

bot are cheap video cards that will get the job done, don't expect to be running and real high graphic video games tho.

traksta15
02-14-2007, 06:08 PM
can you explain the differences between pci-express and agp?-I was going to buy a video card w/s-video if that would work.....

phyphoestilic
02-14-2007, 06:14 PM
They are different interfaces on the motherboard that the video card actaully connects to.
http://www.thg.com.tw/NewsImages/2004/0000860/pic-agp-pcie.jpg
u need to take out ur video card on the computer( computer off) and see which one it looks like. AGP is the older interface people use to use for video cards, but then they invented PCI-express 16x which is alot faster, so is alot more common now days. Basically if u have a really old computer ur probably using AGP.

traksta15
02-14-2007, 06:19 PM
oh, that's what it is lol, I have a pci slot. The only games I play are "worms" and those aren't really "high graphic" lol, think i'll have any problems with this game w/the above mentioned pci slot video card?

phyphoestilic
02-14-2007, 06:22 PM
oh, that's what it is lol, I have a pci slot. The only games I play are "worms" and those aren't really "high graphic" lol, think i'll have any problems with this game w/the above mentioned pci slot video card?

PCI slot is different from PCI-express 16x. Might wanna double check that, cuse even motherboards that use AGP cards still have PCI slots. If ur talking about the old school worms that 2d it should be fine, i dont know what the worms' 3D requires, hopefully u figure it out. I gotta goto class, have fun.

JohnnyChuttz
02-14-2007, 06:25 PM
the spec sheet for my comp says: PCI slots - 3

Same as PCI-Express?

I have been looking at Vid cards and they all say PCI-E

traksta15
02-14-2007, 06:27 PM
the computer isn't "way old" but it's certainly not new. I got it when I graduated in 05 so 2-3 years old. I'll get the model # tomorrow when i get back to my dorm. Thanks for all the replies

nick310
02-14-2007, 06:27 PM
the picture quality will **** using tv out on your videocard. i recommend getting a lcd tv so you could hook it up from either a vga or dvi cable. the picture quality will be a lot better and you will have higher resolution.

Scoobydoo
02-14-2007, 06:37 PM
You probably have an AGP slot

A cheap card like an ATI x300 with s-video out would be a good choice for about $35-40

I am guessing you have an analog tv? If so you would probably run the card at 800x600 or 640x480. Although the tv cant display that much resolution those would be the best settings to try.

jeeper07
02-14-2007, 06:40 PM
if anyone needs a pci-e vid card i have a really nice one for sale.

traksta15
02-14-2007, 10:34 PM
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=2579700

I had to install this on my comp. to connect to the school's internet, it says pci but not sure if it's pci or pci-e....any insight? I'm not a computer guru by any means as you can tell, lol

phyphoestilic
02-15-2007, 01:15 AM
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=2579700

I had to install this on my comp. to connect to the school's internet, it says pci but not sure if it's pci or pci-e....any insight? I'm not a computer guru by any means as you can tell, lol

Yes that is PCI, but like i said earlier thats not what ur video card is connected to. They use to make PCI video cards but i think they stopped. Remeber PCI and PCI-Express are 2 totaly different things.

phyphoestilic
02-15-2007, 01:16 AM
the spec sheet for my comp says: PCI slots - 3

Same as PCI-Express?

I have been looking at Vid cards and they all say PCI-E

Again, PCI is not the same as PCI Express.

dumple
02-15-2007, 01:24 AM
seeing how its 2-3 years old im gunna assume its not pci e that just recently iirc became popular as a video card form

traksta15
02-15-2007, 03:51 PM
this is my computer:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/genericDocument?cc=us&docname=c00191902&lc=en

and this is my t.v.:

http://www.sanyo.com/entertainment/televisions/flatscreen/index.cfm?productID=1111

so how readable is the text? Thanks for all the replies!

JLa Obsessed
02-15-2007, 03:58 PM
i got bad news for ya man, your motherboard has a built in vid card, and no agp or pci-e slot, so your going to have to either get a new motherboard, or a PCI video card with s-video out, im selling an AGP one but i guess that doesnt really help

Scoobydoo
02-15-2007, 04:45 PM
another reason why people should take the initiative and build their own pc's or at least find someone to build them one

proprietary *****, he probably cant even swap out the mobo anyway

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=S60PCI64-DT&cat=VCD

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=R9250LPCI-C3&cat=VCD

Mugen
02-16-2007, 02:01 AM
Radeon 7000 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814103152)

That will give you an S-Video out, very cheaply too. But listen to Jmac, don't bother doing this unless you're going to be watching movies/playing games on the TV, browsing the web will look like ****...

.::DuD3::.
02-16-2007, 10:39 AM
if you're going to upgrade the video card, at least upgrade it to something thats worth buying. if you bought something like this (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150182), then you could buy a dvi-to-component adapter like this (http://sewelldirect.com/dvivideoadapter.asp). it has 2 dvi's, you could use one for your computer monitor and one for your tv. im doing pretty much the same thing, but i'm going using a dvi-to-hdmi on my high def tv.

Scoobydoo
02-16-2007, 01:20 PM
if you're going to upgrade the video card, at least upgrade it to something thats worth buying. if you bought something like this (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150182), then you could buy a dvi-to-component adapter like this (http://sewelldirect.com/dvivideoadapter.asp). it has 2 dvi's, you could use one for your computer monitor and one for your tv. im doing pretty much the same thing, but i'm going using a dvi-to-hdmi on my high def tv.

he doesn't have a pci express slot

dvi-hdmi conversion is pointless unless you just dont have a dvi input on your monitor

since the signal is starting as dvi you wouldn't see any improvment over running just dvi to your monitor. the only difference between the two is hdmi can carry the audio signal as well which wouldnt matter anyway cause pc video cards don't output audio

dumple
02-16-2007, 01:24 PM
id say get a new pooter!

Mugen
02-16-2007, 02:01 PM
he doesn't have a pci express slot

dvi-hdmi conversion is pointless unless you just dont have a dvi input on your monitor

since the signal is starting as dvi you wouldn't see any improvment over running just dvi to your monitor. the only difference between the two is hdmi can carry the audio signal as well which wouldnt matter anyway cause pc video cards don't output audio

Actually DVI -> HDMI is not pointless, it's pretty much the only way to digitally connect your PC to an HDTV (very few HDTVs have DVI inputs on them).