PDA

View Full Version : What is HDMI switching????



Pistonsfan70
02-13-2007, 11:18 PM
http://www.ecost.com/ecost/shop/detail.asp?dpno=4992355

My unit doesn't have switching but I have no idea whether I need it or not....anyone know what it is?

hoss
02-13-2007, 11:23 PM
im not positive, but a google search gave some insight.

i think it is just the ability to switch between two HDMI sources. like if you have an HDMI DVD player and an HDMI digital source going into your unit, it can switch between the two sources. again, this is my guess...

my conclusion as to whether or not you need it, i would say absolutly not. you can always run component video and opti audio in lieu of HDMI.

Pistonsfan70
02-13-2007, 11:34 PM
Only thing I plan on hookin up with the 2 HDMI inputs are the PS3 and tv....

hoss
02-13-2007, 11:42 PM
then you definitly dont need it...

and FYI, you do not have to have HDMI to have HD. the HDMI cables are quite expensive, and as far as i know, have no advantage over component vid and optical. but if you choose to go that route, you def dont need switching, just go from PS3 to reciever, reciever to TV

Pistonsfan70
02-13-2007, 11:55 PM
Thanks for the help! I already have 1 HDMI for the PS3 (I am pretty sure you have to have HDMI for 1080p) and just bought another off of Amazon for like $10 shipped.

THanks for the help Hoss!!!

hoss
02-13-2007, 11:57 PM
no prob :)

i didnt think about 1080p, im not sure as to whether or not HDMI is required for that... i know for up to 1080I it isnt though, and i have been told that 1080I and 1080P is nearly indistinguishable. 1080i looks killer though, so enjoy it when ya get it all hooked up :)

hoss
02-14-2007, 12:04 AM
i dug a little deeper and got a few more answers in case you or others needed it :)

it looks like an HDMI cable IS required to deliver a 1080p signal. however, on the PS3's, they do NOT require an HDMI to output in 1080p yet. i guess there is going to be some add on to the ps3 to allow it to output in a true 1080p format.

Pistonsfan70
02-14-2007, 12:13 AM
I have the 1080p hooked up now.. it is simply AMAZING!! Blu-ray has spoiled me but it helps when you get to see it on a 65" 1080p tv:)

Thanks again for your help!

1loudsuv
02-14-2007, 01:23 AM
hdmi audio on blu ray and hd-dvd sounds a whole lot better then optical... due to higher bit rates

also in my setup hdmi sounds better then analog 5.1 outputs