PDA

View Full Version : Test my enclosure making abilities.



bholtmeier
02-13-2007, 08:30 PM
Alright, someone give me your max diminsions, sub displacement, tuning, amount of port area and what size sub to make a box for. Ill throw a skp file on here so yall can check my work. Just seeing if i'm getting the hang of it anyway.

kicker06
02-13-2007, 08:46 PM
Want:

4 cu ft (after sub and port disp)

32hz

65sq" of port

Sub top firing (placed near front of box)

Port back

Want to be 14" High and 30" Deep.

Dylan
02-13-2007, 09:07 PM
^^^^^^^^^^

# and size of subs bro.

geat
02-13-2007, 09:12 PM
45" long
9" bottom
1.75" top
22" high

i need 1.25 cubes at 35 hz, sub displacement is .12

bholtmeier
02-13-2007, 09:34 PM
I haven't double checked anything, but this is what i came up with for kicker06.
Since you didn't list the size of the sub, i made a cut-out for a 12 under great assumption. Also i used .19cf as the displacement. Feel free to criticise.

Cut out sheet:

(2) 29.5" x 30"
(1) 12.5" x 30"
(1) 12.5" x 28"
(1) 12.5" x 29 1/4"
(1) 12.5" x 23 9/16"
(1) 12.5" x 22 9/16"
(1) 12.5" x 9 3/8"

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/kicker06-1.jpg

kicker06
02-13-2007, 09:54 PM
Looks amazing.

But I wanted top firing =(

lol, sorry I didn't make that clearer.

And it's a Q 15"

bholtmeier
02-13-2007, 10:03 PM
Some reason when i make the hole on the top it looks all weird.

W8 a minute
02-13-2007, 10:04 PM
Design me a band pass box for 2 10" subs. 3 chamber box, center chamber for the port and the two outer sealed chambers for the subs. Use common PVC or one of the common size PNR ports available. This should lean toward SQL. I have 3 cubic feet to work with. 12"x12"x36" internal.


Old school Kicker Solobaric rounds
Sub T/S parameters:

Freq Resp 24-100 HZ
Nominal Imp 4 Ohms
Voice Coil 2" 4 Layer
Fs 25 HZ
Qms 8.4
Qes .33
Qts .32 .
Vas 54.1 Liters
Cms 0.3007E-03 M/N
Re 3.52 Ohms
BL 14.79 Newtons/Amp 1
Sd 0.036 Sq. m.
Mms 129.9 grm
Hvc 1.170"
Hag 0.500"
Xmax 0.335"
Xlin 0.670"
Ref Eff 0.26%
Predicted Output 86.3 DB/1W/1M

Ready, get set...go..:up2somet:

kicker06
02-13-2007, 10:06 PM
Some reason when i make the hole on the top it looks all weird.

Do it, then use the push pull tool, move it up and down then return it to being flat. Then move it down again, and let it go...then it will disapear.

j3bus2k3
02-13-2007, 10:09 PM
Some reason when i make the hole on the top it looks all weird.

Probably cause your not doing it right...heres how I do it:

-At this point, you should have everything done, all 4 outside walls and port walls.
-From the inside corner of one side, make a rectangle going across to the opposite corner effectivly making a top/plane
-Draw your sub cutout with the circle tool, right clikc inside of it with the arrow, and hit erase
-Now, with the push pull tool, raise your created top to your desired baffle height.
-From there, you can either push/pull the other 4 walls to the same heigh, OR draw lines UPWARD (along the blue axis) to be equal with the top at all four corners and then connect...

Hope thats clear...

bholtmeier
02-13-2007, 10:22 PM
If i raise all the walls, it's going to throw everything off..

kicker06
02-13-2007, 10:30 PM
You dont' raise the walls.

bholtmeier
02-13-2007, 10:33 PM
Probably cause your not doing it right...heres how I do it:

-At this point, you should have everything done, all 4 outside walls and port walls.
-From the inside corner of one side, make a rectangle going across to the opposite corner effectivly making a top/plane
-Draw your sub cutout with the circle tool, right clikc inside of it with the arrow, and hit erase
-Now, with the push pull tool, raise your created top to your desired baffle height.
-From there, you can either push/pull the other 4 walls to the same heigh, OR draw lines UPWARD (along the blue axis) to be equal with the top at all four corners and then connect...

Hope thats clear...


kicker06
02-13-2007, 10:36 PM
his way is confusing.

Pull it up, then push it down.

Then return it flush to the top.

Then pull it down 3/4", and let go.

Voila!

bholtmeier
02-13-2007, 10:42 PM
his way is confusing.

Pull it up, then push it down.

Then return it flush to the top.

Then pull it down 3/4", and let go.

Voila!

It doesn't work, it looks all weird, like theres a bunch of white and the color is all ****ed up. I tried what both of you said and neither work. The hole on the side works fine but the one on the top don't work, i don't know why. Is it some sort of glitch?

The design i made you would be perfect, it's less than 30inches wide..Oh and i forgot to put in the sub displacemnt. Internal volume is 4.0 cf after port disp. but BEFORE sub displacement so the box i designed as actualy more like 3.81cf.

DRMVP21
02-13-2007, 11:00 PM
38w x 14Hx20d. Sub displacement is .09cu.ft. 2 pioneer ts-w3004spl. 3.5 cu. ft after displacement tuned to 32hz.

bluelceii
02-13-2007, 11:47 PM
15" FI Q
32W x 14 H x 26D
tuned to 32Hz
2.8 - 4 cubes (as much as you can get...)
Just whatever you can get that's best.
oh and sub up and port back (kinda obvious......)
I'll be using the XX-Zeus

beemer740
02-14-2007, 12:00 AM
i need it for 2 12 FI BL bandpass box..max dimmensions are 37 wide x 15 high x 20 deep can be expanded to 24 if needed.. i want a flat response from 28 hz to 80 hz with minimal peaks. Sub Displacement: 0.15cuft port size 60 sq inches but can go to 120 but rather not due to lack of power

Pyro_By_Nature
02-14-2007, 06:33 AM
Make the circle, use the push/pull tool to push it in, the thickness of your wood. 3/4", 1 1/2", whatever.

bholtmeier
02-14-2007, 08:03 AM
Make the circle, use the push/pull tool to push it in, the thickness of your wood. 3/4", 1 1/2", whatever.

I know how to make a circle. It worked fine on the side. It's just when i make it on the top, it makes all the colors look really weird. I dont know if yall know what im talking about exactly.

kicker06
02-14-2007, 08:05 AM
Pull the circle up, then use the eraser to delete the lines of the circle.

kicker06
02-14-2007, 08:31 AM
Let me start over, since I realize all these free enclosure calculators are WAY off.

I will be running a 15" Fi Q on a 1200wrms in my trunk car, with sub facing UP and Port Backwards. I want 4.0 cubic feet after port and sub disp, tuned to 32hz w/ 65sq" of port.

I want the box to be 30" long and 14" high, my max width is 30" though.

Here is what I came up with so far, but I cannot figure out the second port length for the correct tuning.

External Dims: 24"w x 30"d x 14"h

Internal Dims (using .75" wood) : 22.5w x 28.5d x 12.5h

Internal Volume includ. port disp = 4.638

Port 1 = 5.25" w x 12.5" h x 24" d

Port 1 disp = 0.9 cu ft

Port 2 = 5.25" w x 12.5" x ?


And that is where I got stuck.

I need the depth and height to be the same, but the width can be changed around.

If you could help, that would be awesome!

Thanks man!

PV Audio
02-14-2007, 08:49 AM
How are you designing these boxes? As in, what are you using?

kicker06
02-14-2007, 09:01 AM
If your talking to him, then SketchUp

And me, I am using a calculator.

IonSQL
02-14-2007, 09:38 AM
Sketchup is NOT a design tool, it is a visual aid only.

PV Audio
02-14-2007, 09:47 AM
delete.

PV Audio
02-14-2007, 09:47 AM
If your talking to him, then SketchUp

And me, I am using a calculator.
I was talking to him, and he can't be using sketchup to design boxes as it has nothing whatsoever to do with audio.

kicker06
02-14-2007, 09:54 AM
I thought you meant as in drawing the boxes.

But, I would like to know too.

bholtmeier
02-14-2007, 04:16 PM
A excel file. :)

bholtmeier
02-14-2007, 04:18 PM
And no, obviously you can't find the port length using sketchup. But once you find the port length 99% of the rest of it sketchup can handle. Cut out sheet, actual port length on the 3d model, area of the box etc..

Actually the box i made you should work out perfect, it's less than 30inches wide, and has your requested tuning/port area.

It's actually 3.81cf net after port and sub displacement. I forgot to add in the sub displacement to the box. As you can see here, the internal volume minus the port is exactly 4.01cf.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/****.jpg

bholtmeier
02-14-2007, 06:43 PM
Still can't figure out the hole thing though, lol.

bholtmeier
02-15-2007, 07:10 PM
15" FI Q
32W x 14 H x 26D
tuned to 32Hz
2.8 - 4 cubes (as much as you can get...)
Just whatever you can get that's best.
oh and sub up and port back (kinda obvious......)
I'll be using the XX-Zeus

4.17cf before sub disp (after port) tuned to 32 hz with 50sq inch of port area.
I still can't figure out how to get the hole to work on the top, so the drawing has it on the side.

Port length is 27 inches btw. Someone check it if you have doubts. (ill send skp file)

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/next.jpg

kicker06
02-15-2007, 07:20 PM
50sq" is not enough port.

Good design, although he only has 14" for height, so it would not fit on the front face, but you already know that.

IDK why you can't do the hole on top, it works everytime for me.

mr_kebo
02-15-2007, 07:23 PM
1 18" BTL 8cuft tuned to 33hz with 150sqin of port sub discplacment is .26. Sub up port back double top baffle. Max dimensions are 49W x 24H x 30D

bholtmeier
02-15-2007, 11:05 PM
50sq" is not enough port.

Good design, although he only has 14" for height, so it would not fit on the front face, but you already know that.

IDK why you can't do the hole on top, it works everytime for me.

50 would be enough on the lower end of the rule of thumb. It's not hard to add more , though.

bholtmeier
02-15-2007, 11:38 PM
1 18" BTL 8cuft tuned to 33hz with 150sqin of port sub discplacment is .26. Sub up port back double top baffle. Max dimensions are 49W x 24H x 30D

Here is 8cf, tuned to 33hz with 146.25sq inch of port area. Port length is 36.25inches.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/Untitled.jpg

diablo2007
02-15-2007, 11:46 PM
how about a box for a 12" re audio mx, ive got 37wide 16high id like for it to be long and narrow

bholtmeier
02-15-2007, 11:56 PM
how about a box for a 12" re audio mx, ive got 37wide 16high id like for it to be long and narrow

How much port area, whats the sub disp.?

Excel sure does take care of the math part about this. I tested it out with a design that moe Lester already had, came out exactly the same.

diablo2007
02-16-2007, 12:07 AM
the sub displacement is .19cu ft. id like the port to be a 4in by 16in

bholtmeier
02-16-2007, 12:10 AM
Check this out. Moe's plans are obviously not calculating the volume with a sub displacement. So i set my calculator to 0cf sub displacement. Notice the port length and the net volume are identical. I <3 my calc. :)

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/one.png

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/two.jpg

That Plan of his is here btw:
http://img62.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2cubes32hz24sqin21my.png

diablo2007
02-16-2007, 12:16 AM
what if you were to do 35width 16height 16depth, 4in port. how would you get that tuned to say 30hz

Immacomputer
02-16-2007, 12:35 AM
And no, obviously you can't find the port length using sketchup. But once you find the port length 99% of the rest of it sketchup can handle. Cut out sheet, actual port length on the 3d model, area of the box etc..

Actually the box i made you should work out perfect, it's less than 30inches wide, and has your requested tuning/port area.

It's actually 3.81cf net after port and sub displacement. I forgot to add in the sub displacement to the box. As you can see here, the internal volume minus the port is exactly 4.01cf.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/****.jpg

Um, that is NOT cubic feet but rather area (two dimensional instead of three). You still need one more dimension to make it cubic (as in, to the third power).

You also left off the volume taken away due to end correction because one end of the port is against the enclosure wall.

bholtmeier
02-16-2007, 12:37 AM
Um, that is NOT cubic feet but rather area (two dimensional instead of three). You still need one more dimension to make it cubic (as in, to the third power).

You also left off the volume taken away due to end correction because one end of the port is against the enclosure wall.

yeah, i know. I just took the number it gives me in area in cubic inches, took it times the internal height and divided by 1728. glad you noticed it though.

seg_representin
02-16-2007, 12:40 AM
Need a box for 2 kicker 12" L5's. Max dimensions are 32x25x14 and i would like subs firing up and port back. That should be enough room for 2 12" L5's right? or does it need to be bigger?

Calikid
02-16-2007, 12:49 AM
2 18"fi btl's

top firing

port back laying flat

max dimensions

depth: 24in
width:48in
height: 20in

top double baffle

28hz :drool:

coolahan
02-16-2007, 01:47 AM
2 18"fi btl's

top firing

port back laying flat

max dimensions

depth: 24in
width:48in
height: 20in

top double baffle

28hz :drool:

gettin` low.. gettin` low