PDA

View Full Version : need help with alarm asap



pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 04:27 PM
Ok my friend has a viper alarm in his truck, he's also got an old one that was connected but stopped working I guess. Well we took out his front seat just now to switch his non power seat brackets for my power seat brackets.

We found the old viper brain under the carpet under the seat, so we took it out. Now the car doesn't start. What the hell! The other alarm works fine, etc. We cut the wires so I can't hook up the old brain unless I get another brain off ebay which really isn't an option as he needs his car. (It was his idea to take it out lol)

Please someone help, and I'd apreciate no one to post crap in this thread, I need to get his car running tonight.

expo5.0
02-12-2007, 04:31 PM
follow all the wires back- they have it set up so that either the power or "remote" to the factory ignition ran through the alarm box (possibly a remote start situation)

azbass
02-12-2007, 04:33 PM
yeah you need to hook the starter wire back up.

look under dash, right under teh steering colum, you should find a heavy guage wire that was been cut, and ran in to teh alarm, put this wire back together

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 04:41 PM
So the starter wire that was connected to the brain, even tho the alarm wasent being used, if its not connected, its not gonna work?

azbass
02-12-2007, 04:45 PM
if the starter wire is not conneted the the truck wont start, it was being ran through the alarm, and when you took it out, it broke the path,

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 04:46 PM
what car is it?

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 04:48 PM
I gotcha. Ima try that, stay online incase I need more help haha

expo5.0
02-12-2007, 04:52 PM
it really is that simple

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 04:52 PM
92 explorer

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 04:56 PM
Im showing a Red/Light Blue wire in the ignition harness for the starter wire...look for that. make sure its in tact.

THUNDERBIRD
02-12-2007, 05:20 PM
you get it yet. all it is is the starter kill feature.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:21 PM
no i cant figure it out :( help!!!!!

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 05:22 PM
Do you see a relay up there in the dash...


One that looks like it shouldnt be there.


would be great if you could take a picture of the iginition harness and all of the components of the alarm you have.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:24 PM
the old alarm is a viper 500.

new one is a viper something, not sure. neither had remote start i dont think.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:25 PM
Starter Red/Light Blue
Ignition Red/Light Green
Ignition 2 Black/Green

do i have to re hook the ignition too, or just the starter? im confused as to how the starter wire from the old ararm affects the new one.

azbass
02-12-2007, 05:28 PM
Starter Red/Light Blue
Ignition Red/Light Green
Ignition 2 Black/Green

do i have to re hook the ignition too, or just the starter? im confused as to how the starter wire from the old ararm affects the new one.

are any of thoes wires cut?

the starter (red/light blue) should be cut, all you need to do is connect them back together.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:30 PM
i dont get why it should be cut though, wouldnt he just have tapped into the stock starter wire with the new alarm?

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 05:31 PM
All of the factory wire should go to not be cut...

The only one that might be is the starter, and then it should go to a pack of relays and then go back and continue its path.

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 05:31 PM
i dont get why it should be cut though, wouldnt he just have tapped into the stock starter wire with the new alarm?

For starter kill, the wire would of had to been cut.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:33 PM
**** man this is gonna be hard finding this

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 05:36 PM
No it wont...unless that harness is a rats nest...


Just trace that Red/Light Blue wire, and make sure its not broken or cut anywhere...

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:42 PM
Ok I traced the ignition wire from the old alarm and its goes into the red/light blue wire using a t-tap. So its not cut there...I'm still looking tho...

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 05:44 PM
Hmmmm...

The ignition wire from the old alarm is going to the starter wire?

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:47 PM
Ok I traced the ignition wire from the old alarm and its goes into the red/light blue wire using a t-tap. So its not cut there...I'm still looking tho...

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:48 PM
I meant the starter wire

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 05:51 PM
The yellow wire from the old viper which says switched ignition, goes to the ref/lt blue, which is the explorers starter right?

ngsm13
02-12-2007, 06:09 PM
Lol.

nG

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:09 PM
ok i was looking at the wrong wire. i found the red/light blue (starter)

its cut in half, one end has a black wire connected to it, the other end has a dark green. both are going to the new alarm. so ive gotta get the red/light blue wire connected fully, then also connect the black wire and the dark green from the new alarm back into the red/light blue?

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:10 PM
Lol.

nG

dont start man, everyone has been helpful, just stay out

azbass
02-12-2007, 06:11 PM
ok i was looking at the wrong wire. i found the red/light blue (starter)

its cut in half, one end has a black wire connected to it, the other end has a dark green. both are going to the new alarm. so ive gotta get the red/light blue wire connected fully, then also connect the black wire and the dark green from the new alarm back into the red/light blue?

yep

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:12 PM
thanks

Chevyaudio
02-12-2007, 06:14 PM
You ran into one of the worst problems you can run into when installing an alarm...

Going into a car that had an alarm pieced together in it, and everything backwards.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:19 PM
omg that doesnt work. idk what im gonna do man....this ***** so bad

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:46 PM
.....................

azbass
02-12-2007, 06:48 PM
did you put the starter wire back together and the truck wont start?

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:49 PM
i hooked the red/light blue wire back together and nothing.

azbass
02-12-2007, 06:50 PM
well check other wires.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:51 PM
the only wires i can see coming from the starter wire is the 2 from the new alarm, going to the relay for the new alarm. i cant even see where the ignition wire is from the old alarm. THIS *****

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:51 PM
well check other wires.

which ones?

azbass
02-12-2007, 06:55 PM
all the wires around the starter wire. and trace from teh alarm.

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 06:56 PM
man i wanna kill someone right now :(

THUNDERBIRD
02-12-2007, 08:16 PM
make sure the igintion plug is pushed in all the way too. mine bolts in and the bolt stripped out so i had it pushed in tight but one day when i was goofing around with it, it came loose and wouldnt let me take the car over with the key so i had to zip tie it back in tight. it could be something like that. but y if he installed a new alarm did he not take the old one out??

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 09:36 PM
The dude just left it in.

Tommy mckinny was the installer of the new alarm......lol

95volvosx
02-12-2007, 09:38 PM
and to think tommy was gonna install a new alarm for me...not anymore :-P

KaeZoo
02-12-2007, 09:59 PM
What exactly happens when you turn the key? Do the gauges come one, do any of the accessories work with the key on, does the starter crank at all?

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 10:30 PM
starter doesnt crank, everything else works.

power locks dont work either btw (when u arm the new alarm) they work by the switch though.

this *****!

pimpedout97x
02-12-2007, 10:30 PM
and to think tommy was gonna install a new alarm for me...not anymore :-P

jon's calling tommy tomorow, he has his cell phone number lol

97cavy
02-15-2007, 03:52 PM
Question, did everything work before you decided to cut the harness of the other one?

I would have just left it, why mess with things that arent really effecting anything?

Maybe tommy hooked it up different when he saw the 2nd harness and he wasnt sure what it went to?

pimpedout97x
02-15-2007, 03:54 PM
its fixed now, it was the starter kill from that alarm.

yes everything worked before.

tommy said he found no trace of an exsisting alarm. it was installed really good, not even a professional could find the wiring. no way a thief would have got to it