PDA

View Full Version : need a box design...by this weekend



dvrmstrng
02-06-2007, 08:12 PM
Hey guys, im going home this weekend from college and i want to try to build a new box for my sub while im there....im looking for someone here to design it for me...


Sub will be Fi Q 18...
trying to get as close to 6 cubes ported as possible
sub will be firing up
port i want to run along the bottom of the box the full length of the box

MAX DIMENSIONS

width 41 inches
height 16.25 inches
depth 25 inches

i want to get between 80-90 sq inches of port.


if someone is willing but needs a few bones from paypal i am willing to accommodate for good plans.

thanks dudes!

rpfuror
02-06-2007, 08:18 PM
I'll see what I can do what tuning freq?

It looks like you can get 34Hz @ 6 cu/ft, hows that?

dvrmstrng
02-06-2007, 08:19 PM
sounds good my man...if 6 cubes is not possible with that depth im gonna see if i can stretch out a few more inches...

rpfuror
02-06-2007, 08:27 PM
with your current Max dimension you can get
84 sq/in of port @ 6 cu/ft @ 33.5 Hz

dvrmstrng
02-06-2007, 08:31 PM
im going to the gym...so im gonna measure..i might be able to get another inch or two for depth...so i can get my tuning right at 32...ill be back around 11 if your gonna be on and ill give you the measurements.

thanks a ton

dvrmstrng
02-06-2007, 11:03 PM
i can increase the depth by one inch max after MDF...i have 26 inches deep in there now and its absolute MAX

dvrmstrng
02-07-2007, 03:26 AM
anyone else care to help out?!

bluelceii
02-07-2007, 07:55 AM
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/5122/subboxbq7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Here you go according to your dimensions. 6.5 @ 32Hz. If you want cut measurements or sketchup file, pm me.

rpfuror
02-07-2007, 09:57 AM
Nice!! I put one togehter similar what is the port parameters?

bluelceii
02-07-2007, 10:04 AM
89 sq inches

dvrmstrng
02-07-2007, 01:15 PM
ahh perfect...PM sent.

bluelceii
02-07-2007, 02:27 PM
PM answered...

dvrmstrng
02-08-2007, 10:59 PM
i need to know how to build this box...like what side to start with...this is my first build and im a little confused about where to start..i need to know weather to start with the side or the top or the port....

pwnt by pat
02-08-2007, 11:08 PM
Ever play with legos? It's like that.

dvrmstrng
02-09-2007, 12:39 AM
i know i just didnt know how to do it...looks like i should start with the bottom...attach the sides.....do the double baffle top and front with the port attached....then attach that to the sides

Pyro_By_Nature
02-09-2007, 12:42 AM
It depends on the box for me.But personally I lay the bottom down, do the back, sides, front baffle, then port (if it attaches to the front baffle) and so on and I end with the top.

Just look at the design and you can get it.

dvrmstrng
02-09-2007, 12:47 AM
but to do the back you gotta screw in through the bottom right?

maldecido33
02-09-2007, 12:52 AM
i always do exactly what mountaineer man said; and you don't have to screw; i'd invest in some good clamps.

or, if you don't have clamps, do what i used to do. put the bottom board on a table with the back lip hanging over by a 3 inches or so. glue the back piece and set it where it's going. with the help of a friend/relative/whoever, screw it in. sit down and screw up, while your friend pushes down on the board and keeps it lined up. put a brick/weight on the front lip of the board, to help weight distribution.

dvrmstrng
02-10-2007, 03:35 PM
well i started building but how high to i mount the port piece....at what inch mark...sorry stupid question but im stuck...let me know ASAP

jeepintn
02-10-2007, 03:40 PM
the width of the port

dvrmstrng
02-10-2007, 03:42 PM
so make the port as high as whatever the L x W comes out to be the square inches of port desired>

jeepintn
02-10-2007, 03:43 PM
no, the "bottom" edge of the port in your design that i seen will be (W) high from the bottom of the box

rpfuror
02-10-2007, 06:55 PM
how you build really depends on the design...

I did one similar HERE (http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=206387)

BTW, I would have gave you a 3d build sheet if I designed it, typically by request;)