PDA

View Full Version : Want to run my 3 ways active, what head unit?



theothermike
02-02-2007, 07:27 AM
Hey guys im intrested in getting a better head unit in the near future and im wondering what headunit has the ability to run 3 way components active with eq and x over's, and still have a spot for the sub out.

Im looking to spend no more then 450$, and im not wanting a screen unit.
Time alignment, hpf, lpf, and all other eq features are what im looking for, but being able to run 3 ways active not just 2 ways active and a sub.

Mike-

Flipx99
02-02-2007, 08:32 AM
Then you mean 4 way active.

The cheapest unit is the clarion at around $800 from sound domain.

A cheaper choice is to buy a normal HU and use an external processor (coustic, perhaps) for your processing needs. You might be able to do that in your budget.

~Magick_Man~
02-02-2007, 08:32 AM
i honestly dont know of a head unit that will do 3-way for that price.
i know the clarion drz-9255 (i think that is the model #) can be had for about 625+ on ebay
the alpine h701-c701 combo can be had for about the same price but you still need a hu on top of that.
the pioneer p9 combo will run more than that.

there are a few more 3-way units that i can not think of right now.
but i do believe there isnt any that can be had for that price.

i want to say there are some eclipse units that can do it.
and you might be able to snag one of them off ebay in your price range.

sorry i couldnt help more.

~Magick_Man~

Flipx99
02-02-2007, 08:51 AM
i honestly dont know of a head unit that will do 3-way for that price.
i know the clarion drz-9255 (i think that is the model #) can be had for about 625+ on ebay
the alpine h701-c701 combo can be had for about the same price but you still need a hu on top of that.
the pioneer p9 combo will run more than that.

there are a few more 3-way units that i can not think of right now.
but i do believe there isnt any that can be had for that price.

i want to say there are some eclipse units that can do it.
and you might be able to snag one of them off ebay in your price range.

sorry i couldnt help more.

~Magick_Man~


For some reason, it would be hard to reccomend ebay on such as high MSRP HU. I am semi-saving for the clarion, I will even consider the extended warrenty as I will need it to last a long time

~Magick_Man~
02-02-2007, 10:00 AM
For some reason, it would be hard to reccomend ebay on such as high MSRP HU. I am semi-saving for the clarion, I will even consider the extended warrenty as I will need it to last a long time

well i do agree with you on that.
but for somebody like me in the process of buying the h701 combo i just couldnt afford to pay retail for it.
but if you do have the money that is definitely the route to take.

~Magick_Man~

DFW40
02-02-2007, 10:03 AM
well i do agree with you on that.
but for somebody like me in the process of buying the h701 combo i just couldnt afford to pay retail for it.
but if you do have the money that is definitely the route to take.

~Magick_Man~

How does your 3 way setup sound?

alphakenny1
02-02-2007, 03:41 PM
$450 is probably not enough to run a 4 way active comfortably. if you are running components, i'd just use the passive crossovers that come with it and buy whatever hu you want unless you are going DIY.

~Magick_Man~
02-02-2007, 05:00 PM
How does your 3 way setup sound?

it is not up yet.
i still need the h701 and my amps back from avionixx.
the c701 got here the other day and the sub should be here in th next day or so.

i have no stereo at the moment and that *****.

~Magick_Man~

j3bus2k3
02-02-2007, 05:02 PM
Why not just get a quality headunit with T/A and some good equlizers and run an outboard crossover network?

chucku
02-05-2007, 07:58 PM
Hey guys sorry to step on this thread but I was wondering the same thing. I want to run an amp to my tweets and one to my mids and one to my sub and be able to controll them, probabily want to add a mid bass as well.. I have an alpine 9856. Should I upgrade to a 880 or would a half din crossover do? And if so which one to buy? Thanks, Chuck

jdawg
02-05-2007, 08:07 PM
easiest and cheapest way to do it would be a half din or trunk mount crossover. Here ya go http://cgi.ebay.com/Used-MTX-Stereo-Crossover-Electronic-RT-X03A_W0QQitemZ190080139320QQihZ009QQcategoryZ79840 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I myself will be using one of these
http://cgi.ebay.com/PIONEER-DEQ-9200-EQUILIZER-UNIVERSAL-AUDIO-PROCESSOR_W0QQitemZ280077296304QQihZ018QQcategoryZ 79841QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

theothermike
02-05-2007, 09:21 PM
so that pioneer can be used with 3 way components and not touch my subwoofer? is there a 4 way that includes the sub woofer as well?

Mike

theothermike
02-05-2007, 09:22 PM
nvm, i see the high/mid/low feature. thx for letting my know. i might just do add the second half din up front under my headunit now.

TY for sharing

Mike-

DBfan187
02-05-2007, 09:24 PM
P9 combo
Alpine H701

chucku
02-05-2007, 10:10 PM
Thanks for the replys. I used to have a kenwood crossover that fit in the dash under my old alpine that had a 3 way crossover with adj masters and crossover points, I liked the setup but cant seem to find them now, except for cheap $40 ones. I like the pioneer eq but it wont fit in my dash with my alpine. Ant more suggestions?:ponder: