PDA

View Full Version : Is this overkill?



phantom240
01-30-2007, 07:00 PM
Okay, so im crunching numbers to try to have the loudest (while still having sq properties) 240sx in existance.... I came out with a box with roughly just over 8 cubes internal volume.... I want to have 4 4" aeroports or possibly a slot vent, tuned to 35hz. Would this be overkill for 2 MAW-15's?

BIGsherm7272
01-30-2007, 07:02 PM
well, I can gaurantee you arent going to be the loudest 240 in existance with MAW-15's.......

j3bus2k3
01-30-2007, 07:02 PM
I wouldnt think 4 4"s would be enough, thats what..~50in^2? Why not get some 6" from PSP and do maybe 4 or 5?

phantom240
01-30-2007, 07:05 PM
well, I can gaurantee you arent going to be the loudest 240 in existance with MAW-15's.......

Budget permitting. Its why I went with 8 cubes, so that when I can splurge on better subs, theyre going to like their home. Theyre jsut going to be placeholders. catch my drift?


I wouldnt think 4 4"s would be enough, thats what..~50in^2? Why not get some 6" from PSP and do maybe 4 or 5?

Might as well make myself some 8" ports from pvc eh? LOL

tex512
01-30-2007, 07:08 PM
no such thing as overkill

phantom240
01-30-2007, 07:10 PM
When you want to retain some SQ there is...

phantom240
01-30-2007, 07:42 PM
What about using a slot port, 34.5in x 4in? 34.5 is the width of my box, after displacement of the walls.

phantom240
01-30-2007, 08:25 PM
Drew this just a min ago. Everything is drawn to scale :fyi:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y152/phantom240/NewBox.jpg