PDA

View Full Version : pioneer avh-p7500dvd operate without the hide away unit



SQ is the SQUAD
01-29-2007, 04:23 PM
so heres my story. i brought this pioneer tv off ebay thinknig it was a brainless unit like my buddies. it seemed pretty new and it looked like it had all the wirinbg ect. i belive this was a return or something. someone nessed up the acc wire on the rear plug and it was fixed. i wired up the unit and i get the red led security light to come on. just not sure if i need the hide away unit for the screen to operate. i buddy keeps telling me that all the hideaway unit does is controll extra monitors. i searched several audio boards and on the internet and havent found a fed unit. he dosent rember what model his was but i know some pioneer units did not require a brain or hide away unit. i do not plan on using any extra monitors so if i dont need to buy this hide away unit i will not

this is the auction i purchased from
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=009&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&viewitem=&item=190065529253&rd=1&rd=1

SQ is the SQUAD
01-29-2007, 05:13 PM
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/1833/picture054sl9.jpg

http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/7472/picture055am1.jpg

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/460/pioneernq7.png

i was playing with my unit somemore and i figured out that both black wires might not be grounds. the picture in the installation manual shows one of the black wires connection to a little box on the yellow wire. my original yellow wire was yanked out and replaced with some clean speaker wire. then i hook the two black wires and the light breen brake switch wire to the ground and the yellow wire to the positive the security light comes on. then i press the reset button and connect the red acc wire to power and hit the src button for power but nothnig happends, any thoughts

SQ is the SQUAD
01-29-2007, 05:30 PM
this is a screenshot from my manual

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/628/pioneer2wi8.png