PDA

View Full Version : Divide a box into two or no???



streakz
01-20-2003, 01:59 AM
I'm in the middle of building my box for 2 subs. They are infinity 1220 subs. Vented Trapezoid design...and i was wondering if i should divide the box along the middle or leave it as it is.

Wonderbread
01-20-2003, 02:01 AM
yes, divide it...

paikiah
01-20-2003, 02:05 AM
most people will tell you to divide it...

I don't know how many people blow their subs, but I still ahvent' blown mine after 5~6 years...

so I guess the main reason's gotta be due to a sturdy structure... you want your box as rigid as possible...so the partition will act more like a brace... unless you're into some serious SPL, I don't think the real reason to divide the chambers would be to prevent another sub from damage while the other already is...

I chose not to, so I could get a bigger chamber... but should I choose to do so, all I gotta do is to block the little tunnel I built between the chambers...have a look at my member's gallery section to see what I'm talking about...

Wonderbread
01-20-2003, 02:07 AM
do it more for structural rigidity...
plus, you really dont lose all that much airspace...

paikiah
01-20-2003, 02:11 AM
Originally posted by Wonderbread
do it more for structural rigidity...
plus, you really dont lose all that much airspace...

Erm, here I beg to differ...

he wants a vented box...

If one chamber = 1 Cu.Ft, 2 would naturally be 2 Cu.Ft, but if he made two separate chambers, that'd be a whole different story... he can get much louder with a bigger box, especially when the volume doubles, don't you think so?:)

Wonderbread
01-20-2003, 02:13 AM
whoops, didnt see the vented part...
since its vented, keep it in one airspace...
makes tuning them the same aesier... ;)
when you put two drivers in a box say 3 cubes, they dont each act as if they are in a 3 cube enclosure....

paikiah
01-20-2003, 02:15 AM
therefore, divide the two chambers with a brace... a frame, if you will, so that the centre is hollow for air to move through and do calculate the displacement of the brace and get new measurements~:D

Wonderbread
01-20-2003, 02:20 AM
brace it like this..

http://www.eatel.net/~stentorian/elecdisc/spboxfrt.gif
http://www.eatel.net/~stentorian/elecdisc/spboxsid.gif
http://www.eatel.net/~stentorian/elecdisc/spboxtop.gif

first pic is as if youw ere looking in teh speaker hole..
second is a side view, and the last pic is from on top... adapt it for your funky shaped box...

BTW - Props to Eatel.net...Perry Babin...

paikiah
01-20-2003, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by Wonderbread
brace it like this..

http://www.eatel.net/~stentorian/elecdisc/spboxfrt.gif
http://www.eatel.net/~stentorian/elecdisc/spboxsid.gif
http://www.eatel.net/~stentorian/elecdisc/spboxtop.gif

first pic is as if youw ere looking in teh speaker hole..
second is a side view, and the last pic is from on top... adapt it for your funky shaped box...

BTW - Props to Eatel.net...Perry Babin...

Kewl~~ we might as well try to convince this Perry chap to join the forum~

Wonderbread
01-20-2003, 02:34 AM
that owuld bve sick... but no need, most of his info he's posted on his website...
http://www.eatel.net/~amptech/elecdisc/caraudio.htm

paikiah
01-20-2003, 02:43 AM
Originally posted by Wonderbread
that owuld bve sick... but no need, most of his info he's posted on his website...
http://www.eatel.net/~amptech/elecdisc/caraudio.htm

That's where I went to learn a lot prior to finding out about this forum... i still go there to calculate my box, though..:)

streakz
01-20-2003, 02:07 PM
Thanks alot guys. I think I will leave it as one chamber. I'll post pictures after i finish.

streakz
01-20-2003, 02:21 PM
Thanks alot guys. I think I will leave it as one chamber. I'll post pictures after i finish.