PDA

View Full Version : Staples Or Screws

johns
01-21-2007, 04:56 PM
I was wondering I've seen alot of people using staples to build subwoofer boxes instead of screws.
My question is what size staples to use and are they as strong as screws if you
use alot of them

thank you for your comments

azbass
01-21-2007, 05:00 PM
its all personal preference, how people build boxes.

baseballer1100
01-21-2007, 05:05 PM
I use staples. Its my preference

kickerlivinloud
01-21-2007, 05:06 PM
11/2" staples will work fine. They are plenty strong with glue, we use them at work all the time, and they have yet to fail us. I build houses for a living...

Jon

djman37
01-21-2007, 05:07 PM
I was wondering I've seen alot of people using staples to build subwoofer boxes instead of screws.
My question is what size staples to use and are they as strong as screws if you
use alot of them

thank you for your comments

just keep in mind, it is the GLUE that holds the box together. Screws or staples just let you keep building while the glue dries.

Fast1one
01-21-2007, 05:16 PM
You dont need anything with perfect cuts...use a table saw and wood glue, nothing else ;)

PowerNaudio
01-21-2007, 07:02 PM
wood glue is a very strong method to fasten your together, with out issues.
but by personal preference i would never use that fastening method alone, since to me it seams to be kind of the prefab way. again personal preference here. nothing agains those who use that method alone.

now one of my personal prefrence and used more often then i like to is to use glue and brad nails, its fast and easy. who doesn't like that. lol

now my favorite method of fastening an enclosure together, although it takes longer and some people would say its a total waist of time and money, is the glue and screws fastening method.