PDA

View Full Version : Is this design Moe made a little off?



SHiZNiLTi
01-18-2007, 10:56 PM
I allways thought that you had to have an equal port width?

http://img461.imageshack.us/img461/1010/5cubes34hz75sqin1ushs8.jpg

*edit* the port area is 6" on the front of the box as shown in the orignal sketch by Moe, but the inner port width is off, it's 5.25 and should be 6"

Lakota
01-18-2007, 11:48 PM
You don't want less that the width of the port. Aeroports often times are a lot farther from the backwall than the diameter of the port, especially if they are external.

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 12:03 AM
You don't want less that the width of the port. Aeroports often times are a lot farther from the backwall than the diameter of the port, especially if they are external.

wtf are you talking about?

And to the OP...the port is clearly labeld at 6" wide, where do you get 6.75" from? Either the paint drawing is wrong or he went .75" too long on the port piece...

EDIT: Just build to the numbers, it adds up. he just put a line in the wrong place in the drawing...

wcarson8911
01-19-2007, 12:18 AM
the 6.75 is the distance from the inner part of the side wall the outer part of the port piece. look at the other numbers. the 29.75 is from the inner part of the port piece and the inner part of the other side wall. 29.75 + 6.75 =36.5 add in the 2 pieces of .75 side walls and the exterior width is.....ahah 38 inches. Get it?

SHiZNiLTi
01-19-2007, 12:45 AM
the 6.75 is the distance from the inner part of the side wall the outer part of the port piece. look at the other numbers. the 29.75 is from the inner part of the port piece and the inner part of the other side wall. 29.75 + 6.75 =36.5 add in the 2 pieces of .75 side walls and the exterior width is.....ahah 38 inches. Get it?

oops,
Yes your right for the 6.75 being wrong. It is a true 6" of port width. I screwed that up.

But, the other one is definately wrong.

19.25 + .75 = 20
26 - .75 = 25.25
25.25 - 20 = 5.25

So the port is incorrect in the cutout sheet, it should actually be 18.5" long not 19.25"

http://img461.imageshack.us/img461/1010/5cubes34hz75sqin1ushs8.jpg

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 12:47 AM
You completely missed my post that explained whats wrong with the picture...not the plan...

Do not change the cut-sheet, it is right. the only thing wrong with it is a misplaced line on the picture...do I have to draw it out?

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 12:50 AM
http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o25/j3bus2k3/5cubes34hz75sqin1usno7.jpg

Immacomputer
01-19-2007, 12:53 AM
But now the front panel cutout is too long. It says the front should be 30.5 not 29.75.

~Magick_Man~
01-19-2007, 12:55 AM
http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o25/j3bus2k3/5cubes34hz75sqin1usno7.jpg

but if it was like that then the front piece would be 29.75" instead of the 30.5" it is listed as.

~Magick_Man~

SHiZNiLTi
01-19-2007, 12:55 AM
http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o25/j3bus2k3/5cubes34hz75sqin1usno7.jpg

Ok if you did that then the top port width inside the box would be 6" and the front port width would be 5.25.

Regardless of where the 19.25 long port is place, it's wrong.

Sorry if I'm totally missing something I've been smoking on this (http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/2066/dscn5790fj6.jpg) I <3 my camera and my friend for hooking it up :D

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 12:55 AM
But now the front panel cutout is too long. It says the front should be 30.5 not 29.75.

Good catch...fix the port and another problem-o pops up. That's the end of it though...

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 12:56 AM
Ok if you did that then the top port width inside the box would be 6" and the fornt port width would be 5.25.

Just take the .75 off the front...

Didnt even notice the front was labeled wrong. Just saw the dimensional and assumed it was the same...

SHiZNiLTi
01-19-2007, 01:01 AM
The funny thing is that I built this box a few months ago and ran into the problem during the middle of the build, but just recut the front as magik man 1st mentioned, never thought about pulling up the plans again to check them...

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showpost.php?p=2427779&postcount=1

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 01:03 AM
Hey, what kind of spray on the amp rack is that? I had a customer what a fleckstone style paint job and I was clueless as to which one was best on wood. Did that stuff come out very good? How much prep did you do?

SHiZNiLTi
01-19-2007, 01:08 AM
Hey, what kind of spray on the amp rack is that? I had a customer what a fleckstone style paint job and I was clueless as to which one was best on wood. Did that stuff come out very good? How much prep did you do?
http://www.plasti-kote.com/plastikote/homefash/template.jsp?searchcode=FLE&product=Fleckstone

The Fleckstone went on very easy, Goes on thick, don't shake the can. I put some clear over it to prevent it from flaking off. I like the texture thought it's cool....

here's another pic of it...
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/5489/kracklepaintkt6.jpg

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 01:09 AM
The Fleckstone went on very easy, Goes on thick, don't shake the can. I put some clear over it to prevent it from flaking off. I like the texture thought it's cool....

here's another pic of it...
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/5489/kracklepaintkt6.jpg


So besides maybe knocking on the wood with some 80 grit and maybe something finer, you wouldnt do too much to prep it?

lilmaniac2
01-19-2007, 01:10 AM
all of the moe lester plans are like that that i have looked at...

kinda *****, butoh well

SHiZNiLTi
01-19-2007, 01:17 AM
So besides maybe knocking on the wood with some 80 grit and maybe something finer, you wouldnt do too much to prep it?

Ah yes, I actually Just sprayed the wood with some primer shown on the right in the below image, then after that hit it up with some plain flat black so any spots I missed with fleckstone wouldn't show...

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/2247/supplies1fu5.jpg

I never ended up using the black on the left, I returned it to get can's of black lacquer to give my box that gloss finish. Lacquer wetsands down great to an amazing shine...

http://img483.imageshack.us/img483/8625/housewetsand1zj5.jpg

lilmaniac2 - I havn't checked out the others. At least they are a good base to start with. As a noob never building a box before they helped me out alot.

j3bus2k3
01-19-2007, 01:21 AM
Ah yes, I actually Just sprayed the wood with some primer shown on the right in the below image, then after that hit it up with some plain flat black so any spots I missed with fleckstone wouldn't show...



Awesome, I just repeat that process since it seems it came out reall nice. Thanks mang.

PV Audio
01-19-2007, 01:28 AM
I think that I know what he did, and I don't think that it's wrong. To get the proper tuning, notice how the EFFECTIVE port length extends further out than the wood itself. The end correction makes the proper port length, but it would be simply worthless to have such another small piece of wood and have 6" of port width, versus a little less and still have proper tuning. It looks fine to me.

SHiZNiLTi
01-19-2007, 01:46 AM
I think that I know what he did, and I don't think that it's wrong. To get the proper tuning, notice how the EFFECTIVE port length extends further out than the wood itself. The end correction makes the proper port length, but it would be simply worthless to have such another small piece of wood and have 6" of port width, versus a little less and still have proper tuning. It looks fine to me.
Good point PV, I see what your saying. I got 32hz for tuning though with a 6" wide port. How did he get 34hz with keeping the port 19.25" long?

Goldtaz1
01-19-2007, 11:31 AM
So you're not going to use what I made for you?

SHiZNiLTi
01-19-2007, 12:28 PM
So you're not going to use what I made for you?
I'm still building off of that design you made for me, thanks again. I'm starting to fully understand everything now, especially after having a knowedgeable person like you help me out. This thread has nothing to do with my 18" BTL build taht I'm doing tomorrow, this was just an old design that I made for a couple of Type R's a few month ago. With all the reviewing of box designing for my BTL I decided to review the last box I made off of Moe's design and thats when I noticed the "flaw in the port length and tuning"

PowerNaudio
01-19-2007, 07:57 PM
yes the length of the port wall is .75" to long.

after fixing the port wall length to 18.6" to allow for the proper clearance of 6" at the port end.
i figured that to tune the enclosure to 34Hz or close to that with the internal enclosure volume of 5.272cf and the port parameters of W:6" x H:12.5" you have to have a port at 29.5" in length for the enclosure to be tuned to 34Hz, now using the port end correction of around 0.8488 for Two flanged ends, that brings the physical length of the port to 26". wish is what is drawn on the plans.