PDA

View Full Version : carpet question



lukeduke28
01-14-2007, 03:40 PM
I have my box all the way finished. Now i am going to carpet it. What is the best way t do this? and if i carpet all the way up to the hole for the sub would that let air go in and out when i put the sub in?

Tommyboy03
01-14-2007, 04:08 PM
wow man... i just got on to ask this same question. i just finished building a box with 3.5 cubes and have the carpet but im not really on how to go about carpeting this beast. about your question though, you should be fine if you cut out the sub holes in the carpet, the seal should be tight enough when you screw the subs in that no air should escape. the little bit i do know about carpeting is that a spray adheasive should be used... something like 3M would work. your system will sound good

matt_martin87
01-14-2007, 05:31 PM
Look for bjfish's carpeting tutorial. It looks somewhat challenging, but the boxes come out lookin' ****.

SLIM3001
01-14-2007, 05:33 PM
Look for bjfish's carpeting tutorial. It looks somewhat challenging, but the boxes come out lookin' ****.


I looked at this and got lost but the box do come out nice as long as you dont slip up

lukeduke28
01-14-2007, 05:35 PM
yea i read that when i searched but can i still do that since mine is already together? is there no other way to do it?

bjfish11
01-14-2007, 05:39 PM
The way I do it works best when you rabbit the edge. This gives you somewhere to tuck the edges. Are your sides inset or no?

baseballer1100
01-14-2007, 05:41 PM
Where's danville?

lukeduke28
01-14-2007, 05:47 PM
my sides are flush.

danville is in central Illinois

baseballer1100
01-14-2007, 05:55 PM
O there is a danville in ky thats why i was wondering....

bjfish11
01-14-2007, 06:06 PM
There is a danville in kansas aswell.

kicker06
01-14-2007, 06:34 PM
I just ordered 3 yards of 56" wide carpet. About to do my box so it doesn't slid around my trunk anymore.

I have read bjfish's thread a bunch of times, but I do not have rabbit routered edges, and I don't know where to start. Should I have all my seems on the bottom or back?

matt_martin87
01-14-2007, 08:02 PM
I just ordered 3 yards of 56" wide carpet. About to do my box so it doesn't slid around my trunk anymore.

I have read bjfish's thread a bunch of times, but I do not have rabbit routered edges, and I don't know where to start. Should I have all my seems on the bottom or back?
You can put the seam wherever you would like. I would wrap mine with the seam at the bottom and then glue the excess edge on the sides. Then I would cut out a 2 pieces of MDF as big as your side panels. Carpet these two new pieces and either screw or glue them to the side. I've never actually done this before but I believe it would work and look good.

geowick07
01-15-2007, 12:47 AM
Try this site out. http://www.bcae1.com/
There is a ton of great info on there, and somewhere there is a very good how-to on post-construction carpeting that will look very good if you take your time. Below is a link to some pictures of my enclosure after carpeting. I carpeted it just as is described in the page i linked you. Good luck, and feel free to hit me up on here or on Y! messenger.

Link to Pics! (http://s140.photobucket.com/albums/r7/geowick07/)

kicker06
01-15-2007, 11:45 AM
^^ Very nice.

BTW, if you're looking what number (on the side) the carpet tutorial is, it is # 111.

lukeduke28
01-15-2007, 05:43 PM
im thinkin about wrapping the top, front, bottom, and back and then just cuttin a piece of carpet and glueing it to the side. do you think this would work well?

hellomota
01-15-2007, 07:12 PM
thats what I did on all 3 boxes I have built, now I am trying to get creative and will do what matt have proposed, by the way contact cement works very well as well.

lukeduke28
01-16-2007, 03:28 PM
thats what I did on all 3 boxes I have built, now I am trying to get creative and will do what matt have proposed, by the way contact cement works very well as well.

so does the way you did on three boxes look good?

hellomota
01-16-2007, 04:20 PM
its alright, noone can see the sides really couse they don't show, make sure the front looks good and u r all set.

kicker06
01-16-2007, 06:01 PM
Yea, pretty much ^^

lukeduke28
01-16-2007, 10:26 PM
k thanks for all the help