PDA

View Full Version : GO active or bridge



scrappy
01-10-2007, 04:27 AM
I have a set of DLS UR6S components. Im running them passive off a zapco iforce DLS coaxs in back. I have a kx300.4 I could use also. Ive been thinking of bridging the zapco or kicker and then using the other for coaxs. Do you think it would be worth while to go actibe or just bridge it?

IamDeMan
01-10-2007, 06:24 AM
I don't fully understand your question. There is much more involved to going active than just getting all the speakers powered by their own amplifier.

nismos14
01-10-2007, 11:08 AM
Run your rears off the HU, get a processor and use that in combination with the Zapco and go active with the fronts.

scrappy
01-10-2007, 06:10 PM
If you mean the processing I know that side of it. bridging would be easiest for me so I guess the question is would going active be that much better? Ill probaly still amp the rears I cant really tell that they are there.

Slaugh
01-10-2007, 08:33 PM
i heard from many people who ran their comps bridged against non-bridged and, according to them, sound quality was day/night difference, with all the bells & whistles to the non-bridged setup

squeak9798
01-10-2007, 08:42 PM
Since, as you mentioned, bridging it would be easier for you.....I would go ahead and attempt that first and see what you think, especially if you don't already have an active xover.

WLDock
01-10-2007, 11:16 PM
I think the goal whether it be passive or active is to get max power into all speakers. In most cases that requires more power by means of more amps. If so, then why not try an active setup to see if that will offer more flexibility? Might be able to extract better sound by playing with xover points, slopes, level, phase, etc....You have to be willing and capable of "Putting in Work" to see a major difference.

Remember, all cars, trucks, and SUVs are different. That prepackaged crossover may work in some vehicles but not sound as good in others as the mounting locations and acoustics vary.

scrappy
01-11-2007, 04:28 AM
I think I will bridge it first then go active. Definately more power the better. As far as active crossovers Im going to use my alpine 9833 for that. It has a built in active crossover. I will definately have to put in work to get it to sound good