PDA

View Full Version : Box for 15" Q in my Camaro



bholtmeier
01-09-2007, 04:36 PM
Here's a quick sketchup I plan on putting in my camaro. Box is 3.1 cubes, uses (3) 4" PVC ports, and will be tuned at 32hz. This is just a very rough sketch, I plan on making the ports flush with the top of the angled piece.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/crzybox.jpg

How much room do you think I will need below the sub, or can the magnent touch the bottom of the box? I hope that it can touch the bottom since I am very stretched for room as it is.

Any comments on if this plan would even have a chance of working?

Omarvelous
01-09-2007, 04:41 PM
Not sure how true it is, but heard you want to allow up to 3" from the walls between the magnet.

SO i've heard. Not sure how necessary it is.

jdawg
01-09-2007, 04:49 PM
when i asked everyone had a different answer, most said the width of the pole vent

bholtmeier
01-09-2007, 05:13 PM
Ok, so what do you think of the port placement?

bholtmeier
01-09-2007, 06:49 PM
Here is a better version I just created. I have clearance on the sub mounting depth, all I'm really worried about is how I'm going to get approx. 50 sqin of port in the box. I would really not like to do PVC pipe afterall. Can anyone see a possibility of where I could place an L-port on this box?

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/box2.jpg

PowerNaudio
01-09-2007, 08:43 PM
i can see a slot port being fitted in there, instead of the round ports.
in the area where you were going to put the round port fit the slot port there against the far wall on the left, down towards the floor, against the floor and up against the other wall.

bholtmeier
01-09-2007, 11:32 PM
Im kinda confused as to what you are suggesting..

bholtmeier
01-09-2007, 11:48 PM
Heres one more sketchup, with the PVC port idea..(gonna be a tight fit)
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/viewone.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/view2.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/view3.jpg

JohnBlayz142
01-10-2007, 12:49 AM
You are going to need some **** long aero's to do 3 of them in that size box and keep a low tuning.....4 inchers behave more like 4.4 inchers.

j3bus2k3
01-10-2007, 12:55 AM
:fyi: that box wont work...

Where your sub is, it wont even "see" the chamber of air your ports are in much less force air out of them....

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 01:16 AM
Well, ditch the aero port idea, powernaudio kindly drew me up a rough idea of how a slot port would work......how would this be?

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/newest.jpg

j3bus2k3
01-10-2007, 01:19 AM
Better, but I would still bet that the volume of air surrounded by the port would do little for the sub....

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 01:20 AM
Well no better way to find out than to try it.

j3bus2k3
01-10-2007, 01:20 AM
Agreed...

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 01:24 AM
Well, if i find that this works, i'll make a thread for "how to make a ported box in a camaro" thread, and we'll sticky it. :) I hope it works....if it wasn't for the triple baffel the mounting depth would be too much, i should have about 2" plus clearance though the way it is now.

Btw...anyone know how i can make those angled cuts?

Edit :I take that back. From the top of the top baffle to the bottom of the box is only 8.75", the mounting depth on a 15" Q is 8.5".....i will pry end up doing ANOTHER baffle on top of there...quad baffle FTW ha...and pry end up mounting the amps behind the baffle and in front of where the port comes out, would look ****.

60ndown
01-10-2007, 01:34 AM
i think the box will work well with either aeros or slot.

acold7dusta
01-10-2007, 01:34 AM
cant you put the sub where it drops down and have the aeros facing forwards?

60ndown
01-10-2007, 01:36 AM
and you need the width of the pole vent clearence minimum.

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 01:36 AM
cant you put the sub where it drops down and have the aeros facing forwards?

I don't think i would wanna do aeros, as mentioned earlier, it's a really long length and i don't wanna mess with it, plus the slot port is much sexier and easier. And i was thinking about putting the sub on the part where it slopes down, not sure why i decided against it. I think because the excursion would be to close to the glass on the hatch.

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 01:38 AM
and you need the width of the pole vent clearence minimum.

Isn't the pole vent about 1"? If i add another baffle, i'll end up having exactly 1" clearance.

One Bad MOFO
01-10-2007, 01:43 AM
I don't think i would wanna do aeros, as mentioned earlier, it's a really long length and i don't wanna mess with it, plus the slot port is much sexier and easier. And i was thinking about putting the sub on the part where it slopes down, not sure why i decided against it. I think because the excursion would be to close to the glass on the hatch.
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/2/web/794000-794999/794480_92_full.jpg

that's mine, the excursion does come close to the hatch and I had to take off that piece of plastic that goes around the hatch, but I think this is the best way to do it, in the well i mean.

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 01:44 AM
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/2/web/794000-794999/794480_92_full.jpg

that's mine, the excursion does come close to the hatch and I had to take off that piece of plastic that goes around the hatch, but I think this is the best way to do it, in the well i mean.

HAHA, i had to take the plastic piece off too........whats the specs on that box? thats similar to what i'm going to be running....PM Me....never thought i'd run into someone else with this idea..

Ctminime
01-10-2007, 09:13 AM
i remember when we had to take that plastic of to it that box bholtmeier funny **** that he had to do the same thing.... i think im going to like to see this finished product... o and holt gimme a call later

PowerNaudio
01-10-2007, 09:41 AM
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c77/slikrider20/newest.jpg
although that port may look like it works because it fits, the port width, hight and length has to be calculated against the volume left in the enclosure to come up with the correct volume and tuning combination to suite that sub. so the port may have to be split in two or have the opening made smaller or bigger and the length shorter or longer in order for it to work.
unless consequentially that port actualy does work with the air volume left in the enclosure to make for a nice air volume/tuning for that sub. lol

but i just added that port like that as an example.
good luck with the enclosure and let us know what you come up with, as far as tuning and enclosure volume goes.

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 04:06 PM
How would you calculate the port area in that box? WXH is what i used before..but what exactly is the height?

PowerNaudio
01-10-2007, 04:50 PM
you got mail.

Corey69
01-10-2007, 06:21 PM
Building well boxes *****, so I just walled my firebird.

PowerNaudio
01-10-2007, 06:43 PM
is that the widest you can go?, can the top baffle be made as tall as the top ring?.

PatFitz9
01-10-2007, 07:13 PM
fiberglass it

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 07:41 PM
is that the widest you can go?, can the top baffle be made as tall as the top ring?.

The top ring? what do you mean.

bholtmeier
01-10-2007, 08:31 PM
Everything is as big as it's going to go...i just hope this design fits. I bet a 15" Q wouldnt sound that great tuned at 37hz though..