PDA

View Full Version : thinking about doing changable ports, or would a regular be better?



bamaboy
01-08-2007, 12:59 AM
:try to follow me on this:

if i use a changable port, i would have to leave a gap under the port in the box like this
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l151/daspain07/ups046.jpg

i guess you could call it a dead spot maybe, would it be better to just do a regular port all along the bottom of the box so air would flow better, or does it really not matter

its kind of a hard thing to put in words, pictures are easiest to look
http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/6392/portvy8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/544/port2od3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

so does anyone see what im talking about

is this nothing to worry about or should i just do a regular port and be safe?:crap:

lilmaniac2
01-08-2007, 01:01 AM
should be fine...

PowerNaudio
01-08-2007, 01:18 AM
its not really a dead spot since the enclosure has to pressurize in order for air to rush out of the port. it does create turbulence. but you can help counter act that by routing the ends of the port.

that first example is used very often and proven to work. so its safe to say that you can use it effectively. same goes for the second example.

j3bus2k3
01-08-2007, 01:24 AM
With my design I was, going to make it so my lowest tuning would only need one port wall...so in essance, no bend in the "L" just an "l" straight down. And the higher tuning would be shorter than the wall of the lower tuning piece. Also the 2 pieces were going to slide in thanks to a keyhole router bit...

There was no plug...just slide in the pieces attached to a flange...

I simply decided to make a daily box and a fart box using external aeros...

bamaboy
01-09-2007, 01:55 AM
okay i gots it now, im just going to do a box for each thing and not worry about interchangable ports

2 18s coming soon :up2somet: