PDA

View Full Version : Improve sound - 2000 Toyota Tacoma

halfstepdown88
01-03-2007, 06:03 PM
I have a 2000 Toyota Tacoma 2-door with a cab. The sound system is just the factory stuff. I want to improve my sound so I'm looking to get new speakers (and a week ago I messed one of the speakers up just a tad turning it up too loud and really bassy stuff sounds bad out of it now).

I've heard that 5x7 is what I need, thats what i've been told in two stores and thats what audiovox.com says but infinitys website says that both my speakers are 6-1/2" with a depth of 2-3/4" here
http://www.mobiletoys.com/partners/infinity/v_details.asp?MAKE=48&MODEL=TACOMA&RECORD=6380&YEAR=2000

Crutchfield says 6-1/2 inch and crutchfield says I can fit a 6-3/4" in the rear speakers.

I am completely new to this stuff and don't really know what to look for that makes a speaker good.

here are some pictures of where my speakers are.

Speakers in the rear of my truck
https://www.t-mobilepictures.com/photos/photo13/ea/b9/7e1779bd8354.jpg?_rh=9pkedxir4bsfv9w1ooycknxpe

Pen to show size I guess
https://www.t-mobilepictures.com/photos/photo12/c4/57/d7a696fdff6a.jpg?_rh=kngfhrlpvyy1ou0hrj4qhb3g

Front Door speaker (how do you get to these?)
https://www.t-mobilepictures.com/photos/photo14/d6/e3/600243fda942.jpg?_rh=8rm5s5r0ox3uldftaaql1zlp7

https://www.t-mobilepictures.com/photos/photo18/08/67/a1bcdafca2d6.jpg?_rh=8qv75wfay1mawbe7yo6r178gt

Also my friend's car has to get totaled and he has two amps now and said if they are still fine he could probably sell me one and I'll know sometime in a week. This would improve the sound of my speakers right? And should I also get a new head unit too? Thanks guys

enzowho
01-03-2007, 09:03 PM
I see this is your first post, so welcome to the forum! I will see what I can do to help you out. I will list some common ways to get better sound. Also, a budget would be helpful to us.

(I) Speakers