PDA

View Full Version : Pros Cons 2v vs 4v?



22mountaineer
12-28-2006, 08:54 PM
Alright I thought that the preout voltage was how you determined where to set your gains? What are the advantages of a 4v over a 2v? Will I be able to turn my amp up more with a 4v HU than a 2v HU? Thanks!

22mountaineer
12-28-2006, 09:09 PM
IDK if I am thinking to hard and its an obvious answer, but I would assume if you had a 4v preout and you had enough power then you could turn your gains up more then you could with a 2v without clipping?

ultimate157
12-28-2006, 09:10 PM
Your pre out voltage just determines where you set your gain, which is how much the amp will amplify that signal. Having a 2v pre-out will make you turn the gain up higher than the 4v, but when set correctly your amp will output the same voltage.

jmanpc
12-28-2006, 09:10 PM
you just turn the gain up less with the 4v input. it will have no inpact on the output of your amp.

ultimate157
12-28-2006, 09:11 PM
IDK if I am thinking to hard and its an obvious answer, but I would assume if you had a 4v preout and you had enough power then you could turn your gains up more then you could with a 2v without clipping?

No, the amp will clip at the same point with a 2v, 4v, or 8v signal.

iceteebone
12-28-2006, 09:12 PM
it doesn't matter. it's all about where your gain is set at. this question has been asked literally thousands of times over the years at ca.com. search

22mountaineer
12-28-2006, 09:12 PM
Thanks alot guys! Now I get to go back at retract a suggestion and look like an ***! Ha

T3mpest
12-28-2006, 09:14 PM
Long story short, pick your HU because of the other features it has, eq's, t/a, or even how it looks before you pick it for preout voltage.

22mountaineer
12-28-2006, 09:14 PM
I used it, thanks though ********.

iceteebone
12-28-2006, 09:17 PM
I used it, thanks though ********.

o'rly? http://www.caraudio.com/forum/search.php?searchid=1684326 your question would've been answered in the third thread listed

22mountaineer
12-28-2006, 09:19 PM
Maybe next time I need to try more than 1 time on the search button.

Want a cookie?

iceteebone
12-28-2006, 09:20 PM
Maybe next time I need to try more than 1 time on the search button.

Want a cookie?

i only did it once :confused:

matrxx dude
12-28-2006, 09:22 PM
it doesn't matter. it's all about where your gain is set at. this question has been asked literally thousands of times over the years at ca.com. search


so true;)