PDA

View Full Version : so pissed..............



BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 10:02 PM
well, I just got my new kenwood KDC-X790 installed today, and I think its defective. I cant turn demo mode off, and I am following the directions exactly. It also wont read any cd, but that could be because of demo mode. Does anyone else have any info on this?

NebBlackshirts
12-27-2006, 10:03 PM
that *****, man. best of luck

acold7dusta
12-27-2006, 10:03 PM
go to standby, scroll through the menu and go to demo mode.

was it brand new?

.::DuD3::.
12-27-2006, 10:04 PM
look in manual??

KaeZoo
12-27-2006, 10:04 PM
Demo mode won't prevent it from playing CDs, whether it's on or off.

ravendarat
12-27-2006, 10:05 PM
If it wont play discs than the unit has a internal issue. If you bought it new than take it back, if you bought it used get the tire iron.

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 10:06 PM
well, whenever I put it any cd, even if its brand new, it says TOC error.

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 10:07 PM
I always get the shittest luck. I always get something with some kind of defect.

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 10:08 PM
go to standby, scroll through the menu and go to demo mode.

was it brand new?

which menu are you talking about? cause in the manual it says to push the control knob towards am or fm in standby mode, but when I do, it just does nothing.

dgr00s
12-27-2006, 10:09 PM
****, good luck

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 10:16 PM
man, this is gay. Does that mean that I just wasted the $70 I payed to get it installed? Or could I just leave the wiring harness in? Or when I return it, will I also have to return the harness......

Louisiana_CRX
12-27-2006, 10:23 PM
They should swap out decks without the harness...When you call to get a return number explain that you just paid $70 to have it professionally installed....and they can take the harness from the deck they are swapping...

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 10:29 PM
thats good. this is now going to delay getting my system together......

acold7dusta
12-27-2006, 10:46 PM
which menu are you talking about? cause in the manual it says to push the control knob towards am or fm in standby mode, but when I do, it just does nothing.

thats where you went wrong, the menu is located next to the # pad. hold that and itll bring it up

should be the second one to the left

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 11:23 PM
lol, wow I finally got it off. Thanks for your help, but it still wont read anything. So I guess its just defective.

acold7dusta
12-27-2006, 11:25 PM
try a store bought cd. either that of the cd-read isnt selected as "1"

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 11:27 PM
na, I set it at 1, and tryed a new cd. What is cd read 2?

acold7dusta
12-27-2006, 11:28 PM
not really sure, maybe DVD-cds? when i tried it, it like had 1 track, but it didnt play nething

AcidicDreams
12-27-2006, 11:29 PM
TOC errors can happen with imporperly burned MP3 discs. try a pressed audio CD

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 11:30 PM
oh, true. I guess mine is just defective.

acold7dusta
12-27-2006, 11:32 PM
oh, true. I guess mine is just defective.

ITS NOT DEFECTIVE, try a NORMAL CD

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 11:33 PM
Ive been trying store-bought cds. And i read the manual and it says that cd read 2 is playing the cd by force (w/e that is suppose to mean)

acold7dusta
12-27-2006, 11:35 PM
i dk what to tell you, the only time ive gotten toc errors were with screwed up cds that i burned. try resetting the unit

bibby
12-27-2006, 11:36 PM
My kenwood sais TOC error sometimes. I just eject, and then reinsert. All i own are burned cd's, my originals are in cases in boxes atop my closet.

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 11:36 PM
Ill try that, but it could just be a bad laser or something. you never know

BIGsherm7272
12-27-2006, 11:53 PM
so, I just tryed like 5 cds that are all store bought and no scratches, but no matter whant, just wont read them. checked every option. It is the unit.