PDA

View Full Version : 6 Type R 15's



mospoble99
12-27-2006, 03:48 PM
Im about to re-do my system in my 97' Caddy deville. im taking out my two(2) type r 12's and putting them in my wifes car. its already wired for it since it was in her car to start. Can anyone give me some advice on this, i want to put six(6) type r 15's in my caddy. does anyone know if they will actually fit? does it have to be a custom built box? what size caps should i use? My caddy already has 0 guage wire running in it for pwr and grnd. I'll be running three (3) Hifonics gen XX colossus amps. should i also get another battery and alternator? already have an optima for the car.

ugs92
12-27-2006, 03:50 PM
Im about to re-do my system in my 97' Caddy deville. im taking out my two(2) type r 12's and putting them in my wifes car. its already wired for it since it was in her car to start. Can anyone give me some advice on this, i want to put six(6) type r 15's in my caddy. does anyone know if they will actually fit? does it have to be a custom built box? what size caps should i use? My caddy already has 0 guage wire running in it for pwr and grnd. I'll be running three (3) Hifonics gen XX colossus amps. should i also get another battery and alternator? already have an optima for the car.


lol 6 15" ina caddy wow

squeak12
12-27-2006, 03:51 PM
You will need at least 1 run of 1/0 per amp. 2 runs would be better. I doubt 6 15's would fit in the trunk, but you can give neill barber a call. He has a shop in Thomasville.

skeptikal
12-27-2006, 03:52 PM
Lol you need a beefed up electrical system to do what you want to do. And if you want to do it right im almost positive you cant fit (6) 15" arrrs in the trunk. You'd have to either wall off the caddy or go with 1 or 2 of them in the trunk. And you'd need alot more than just 1 run of 0 gauge.

Should just get a single beasty *** 15 or 18 (ie. BTL, MT) and just 1 of those gen XX colossus amps. Build a properly designed box for it and wang out. Anything more than tha is really overkill and you dont have enough room in the trunk of a caddy.

Supergumby5000
12-27-2006, 03:53 PM
thats huge, two 15's is going to consume around 7 cubes in my SUV, and i thought that was going to be cramped, SIX in a caddy? boy, you crazy.......

OneKrazyKeebler
12-27-2006, 03:55 PM
Nah, with that much wattage, get 4 Audioque HD3 15s and use 2 amps. Dear God get those over the type'rs. You can't really do a good ported enclosure for 6 15's with that trunk i don't think. Just get 4 and tune the box low. You won't be disappointed.

I think you might wanna think about a couple batts in the back and a hella alt or 2.

mospoble99
12-27-2006, 04:04 PM
ok, ok, i get it. (6) 15's wont fit. anyone know if (4) Solo X 12's will fit in the trunk?

OneKrazyKeebler
12-27-2006, 04:08 PM
5-6 cubes each, probably not.

Just do 2 solo x 18's sealed

Supergumby5000
12-27-2006, 04:12 PM
5-6 cubes each, probably not.

Just do 2 solo x 18's sealed

in a trunk?.......awesome.....

Platestacker45
12-27-2006, 04:12 PM
ok, ok, i get it. (6) 15's wont fit. anyone know if (4) Solo X 12's will fit in the trunk?
6 15's? 4 Solo X's? 3 Colossus!!! Talk is cheap man....

mospoble99
12-27-2006, 04:12 PM
Thanks keebler. will those 18's actually fit in the trunk? and will those Hifonics amps be enough power for them? i know the 18's are rated at like 10kw or something like that.

mospoble99
12-27-2006, 04:15 PM
platestacker45, whats your point? do u have any insight on the question that was asked?

Flipx99
12-27-2006, 04:15 PM
Am I the only one still impressed with a single 12?


It's going to be tought to fit any of what you suggested in a trunk car unless you start building a wall or box bolted to the backseat kind of deal.

bballrrt06
12-27-2006, 04:23 PM
5-6 cubes each, probably not.

Just do 2 solo x 18's sealed

solo x 12's need 5-6 cubes each? :eyebrow:

give them 2-3 each ported

don't do solo x sealed .. why would you ever do that?

SAG3
12-27-2006, 04:24 PM
This will not happen.

bluelceii
12-27-2006, 04:46 PM
Nah, with that much wattage, get 4 Audioque HD3 15s and use 2 amps. Dear God get those over the type'rs. You can't really do a good ported enclosure for 6 15's with that trunk i don't think. Just get 4 and tune the box low. You won't be disappointed.

I think you might wanna think about a couple batts in the back and a hella alt or 2.

that... and 2 massive audio p3000.1

bcleachd
12-27-2006, 04:51 PM
i have a lac deville also, you can fit 4 type-r 15's in their.;)

WITHOUT AMPS:laugh: :naughty: ;)

but yea probably about 3 type-r 15's and 2 decent sized amps.

just get 4 12's type-r's i used to have one type-r in my caddy and it was DECENT:)

Josh #44
12-27-2006, 11:40 PM
Don't you DARE seal Solo-X's.....

OneKrazyKeebler
12-28-2006, 12:05 AM
hey now, i was just sayin so because of the space issue

I wouldn't do it personally, but he obviously wants to be stupid loud and in that space/amount of wooferage-thats what came to mind.

wesl56
12-28-2006, 12:11 AM
i wish i had a car that big and unlimited cash... hehe

dkmesa
12-28-2006, 12:17 AM
Just buy two and power them with one amp

bballrrt06
12-28-2006, 12:50 AM
hey now, i was just sayin so because of the space issue

I wouldn't do it personally, but he obviously wants to be stupid loud and in that space/amount of wooferage-thats what came to mind.

nope you lose.

solo x 18 IMO (on paper) has no chance of being loud compared to most other setups

you having a solo x should know this ;)

mospoble99
12-28-2006, 06:18 AM
thanks for the info and advice everyone. Im thinking i may just go with (2) solo x 12's and run a Hifonics colossus to each one. Anyone know if i still need a cap, battery, alternator for this type of setup? and if it still work, im open to suggestions on a system setup.

phyphoestilic
12-28-2006, 06:24 AM
This will not happen.

x2 :eyebrow:

dleccord
12-28-2006, 06:25 AM
man you got a lot of researching to do. 4 solo x will put you in the neighbor hood of 12-16k+ watts. good decision on two.

you're gonna need a good alternator or two and perhaps a few good batteries.

JoshHd6
12-28-2006, 06:27 AM
thanks for the info and advice everyone. Im thinking i may just go with (2) solo x 12's and run a Hifonics colossus to each one. Anyone know if i still need a cap, battery, alternator for this type of setup? and if it still work, im open to suggestions on a system setup.

this will not happen again..and how old r u..12?..:eyebrow:

ArrizX
12-28-2006, 06:56 AM
this will not happen again..and how old r u..12?..:eyebrow:

so im the 4th to agree? :wow:

mospoble99
12-28-2006, 08:45 AM
for you last two who posted here, #26 and #27, when u speak of it will not happen, are u referring to the 6 15's or the 2 12's? and as for my age, im old enough to ask if i dont know the answer. the issue of the 6 15's was long ago resolved. how about a little useful advice next time.

Hintzyboy
12-28-2006, 07:05 PM
Get like a 250 amp alternator and add it in conjunction with the stock alty. Then drop the optima and throw a couple big Kinetiks in the trunk. Grap 2 Fi BTL 12s or 15s and build a nice box for them. Throw around 3500 clean watts to each and commence with the wanging.

squeak12
12-28-2006, 07:13 PM
Neill Barber - Audio Extremes in Thomasville, GA
Look up his number and call or pm him on this site.

http://www.audio-extremes.com/

Hintzyboy
12-28-2006, 07:14 PM
Neill Barber - Audio Extremes in Thomasville, GA
Look up his number and call or pm him on this site.

^^^^^Also good advice

HawaiianBassHed
01-21-2007, 12:01 AM
solo x 12's need 5-6 cubes each? :eyebrow:

give them 2-3 each ported

don't do solo x sealed .. why would you ever do that?

I put my single soloX 10" in a 3.5ft^3 box and was doing 144+ new TL music dash car sealed. 145+ 37hz burps ;) . daily box and power tuned to 37hz I suppose... thought it was 35 but I didn't calc the aeroports right with the flares only half counting :crap: but still loud :D

profundus-sanus
01-21-2007, 09:40 AM
your gonna have problems fitting a second alt on that northstar, if its anything as cramped as my seville was. I wold definately go for one h.o.

I ran 4-12's sealed in that car and it fit nice. 1.6 cu ft per chamber. i think 4 15's sealed wouldn't work. I would go with two bad *** 15's ported. Or those solo-x 12's.

Bumpn Focus
01-21-2007, 09:52 AM
I'd go with the two solo x 12"s. Run two big amps (2500watts+) and at least two Kinetics 2400s. And upgrade to an Iraggi or Excessive alt.

DBfan187
01-21-2007, 11:53 AM
I live here in Valdosta, GA.