PDA

View Full Version : Stock S-10 HU



OneKrazyKeebler
12-25-2006, 09:31 PM
Just wanna consult the experts before I go too overboard.

Is it a 1.5 din or a 2 din?

Thinking about either a dvd playing 1 din and a .5 din flipout screen or one of those HU with the 6.5" trouchscreen.

Just thought I'd make sure. THANKS

squeak12
12-25-2006, 09:33 PM
I dont think its double and check clearances for the gear shifter on a flip out.

azbass
12-25-2006, 09:34 PM
iirc din and a half.

OneKrazyKeebler
12-25-2006, 09:34 PM
nah, the unit is way higher than the shifter. not a problem.

OneKrazyKeebler
12-25-2006, 09:35 PM
iirc din and a half.

thats what i thought

would it be difficult to put a double din in there?

azbass
12-25-2006, 09:37 PM
probably for you yeah

OneKrazyKeebler
12-25-2006, 09:39 PM
probably for you yeah

LOL, I got some plexiglass I was gonna cut and paint black on the back side if it wouldn't fit. Sound like too big of a project?

azbass
12-25-2006, 09:44 PM
just get a regular flip out. so you dont hack up your dash

OneKrazyKeebler
12-25-2006, 09:48 PM
well, I kinda wanted something different kuz it's a show truck in the works.

Just a krazy idea I had.

KaeZoo
12-25-2006, 10:58 PM
What year? 2003+ S-10s are double-DIN; earlier models are DIN and 1/2, though I'm told some of the 2002 model year was equipped with double-DIN.

OneKrazyKeebler
12-26-2006, 12:18 AM
its a 96. I coulda swore it was a din1/2 but I just wanted to make sure. Didn't come with a stock radio so I thought I would see what you guys thought.

My buddy actually put all autometer guages in the stock guage cluster of his mustang and painted the back of the plexiglass black to give it a deep gloss look. Looked danm good actually. Was kinda thinking along the same concept.

kpozr2
12-26-2006, 12:36 AM
go to s10fourm.com theres a write up on how to fit a double din into the 1.5 space. involves a lil cutting fyi

OneKrazyKeebler
12-26-2006, 01:00 AM
good to know. I got a couple buddies with over 4000 posts there. They can probably help me do it for all I know. I have had the truck for about a month now and its a project, so I am in no real hurry. Im definately fixin to check that out.

OneKrazyKeebler
12-26-2006, 01:28 AM
can't find it

Calikid
12-26-2006, 01:31 AM
1.5

KaeZoo
12-26-2006, 07:59 AM
The stock radio is DIN and 1/2 but in the 96 there's a factory pocket attached to the bottom of the radio, so the actual opening on the dash panel is quite a bit larger. On the other hand, there's also a depth issue to worry about on these vehicles; the factory radio isn't as deep as a standard aftermarket head unit.

OneKrazyKeebler
12-26-2006, 01:45 PM
Yeah, I forgot about the depth thing. Im gonna get to the truck tonight and see what I can figure out.

Hintzyboy
12-28-2006, 12:24 AM
without the cubbyhole it should fit no problem. You just have to fab up a dash kit. Depth will be your biggest obstacle.