PDA

View Full Version : Prefab Punch 1's Ported



JoseMCeee
12-24-2006, 10:01 AM
I have a pair of ****** RF Punch 1's (10's) in a prefab RF ported box. Not really sure what its tuned to, most likely 40hz. Will I see a big difference if I build another ported box (2.5 cubes @ 32hz)?

ultimate157
12-24-2006, 01:38 PM
Maybe. Whats the current volume? If its a lot smaller than 2.5 cubes, then you probably will tell a difference. Those woofers aren't exactly great at hitting the low end, so tuning lower probably won't help much, but a big difference in volume + lower tuning will.

JoseMCeee
12-24-2006, 07:44 PM
not sure what the current volume is right now. I'll try looking it up. I got the shits for free so thats why im not too worried about their performance but I did notice the lows arent gettin hit at all.

JoseMCeee
12-24-2006, 07:46 PM
this is the box

http://rockfordfosgate.com/products/product_details.asp?cat_id=17&series_id=56&family_id=57&item_id=96195&locale=en_US&p_status=

ultimate157
12-24-2006, 07:52 PM
Using their outside dimensions, and messing with the numbers, it looks like its just about 1.25 cubes per woofer after port and sub displacement.

Volume is (about) already at what you're looking to do, however most prefabs are tuned 40hz or higher to give maximum SPL for a consumers $.

If you wanted to be able to hit the low end better, going bigger on the enclosure is going to do that, as well as tuning it lower at the same time.

JoseMCeee
12-24-2006, 11:04 PM
So is it worth building a new box? Lets say a total of 2.6 cubes @ 32 hz?

Pyro_By_Nature
12-24-2006, 11:08 PM
You will notice a big change in the sound by tuning to 32hz if it really is tuned to 40hz.