PDA

View Full Version : Build Member FI Q 12" 2.25 @ 32 Hz



rpfuror
12-24-2006, 01:33 AM
Heres worklog for a box I'm building for a forum member for a FI Q 12" 2.25 cu/ft Net @ 32 Hz.

3D Drawing:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/2-1.jpg

Box Cutts:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0019.jpg

Back and Bottom:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0022.jpg

Port Side:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0023.jpg

O Port Side:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0024.jpg

Port Side Painted:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0025.jpg

Port Cuts Rounded:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0026.jpg

Port Construction:

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0028.jpg

More To Come.....

RAINMAKA
12-24-2006, 01:42 AM
Is it ok to put a 12" sub in the side that is 15"? I was curious about that when trying to design a box but didnt know if that is enough space. Sorry to hijack but looks good.

ultimate157
12-24-2006, 02:43 AM
Is it just me or did you paint the contact surface where the port wall goes? That will cause the glue to not bond correctly.

rpfuror
12-24-2006, 10:56 AM
Is it ok to put a 12" sub in the side that is 15"? I was curious about that when trying to design a box but didnt know if that is enough space. Sorry to hijack but looks good.

I have never hade a problem with this. Typically the 12" cut size is 11.2" this give you over an inch to work with on top and bottom.


Is it just me or did you paint the contact surface where the port wall goes? That will cause the glue to not bond correctly.

You are correct that the paint is in an area of the box that I mounted one of the port walls, but I used a sander to clean it up before putting it together. It sill not leak.

bama350z
12-24-2006, 05:58 PM
ygpm

billabongcr
12-24-2006, 06:01 PM
nice box

ultimate157
12-24-2006, 06:23 PM
Is it ok to put a 12" sub in the side that is 15"? I was curious about that when trying to design a box but didnt know if that is enough space. Sorry to hijack but looks good.

Na not a problem, as long as you use a double front baffle. My 12" is mounted on a face that is only 12.5" across (due to calculation error) however I made up for it by using a second baffle for extra support


You are correct that the paint is in an area of the box that I mounted one of the port walls, but I used a sander to clean it up before putting it together. It sill not leak.

Ok cool, box looks great.

PV Audio
12-24-2006, 06:50 PM
If I may be so blunt, but is the member paying for this box?

bama350z
12-24-2006, 07:12 PM
yes, i'm paying for it..why do you ask??

RAINMAKA
12-24-2006, 07:13 PM
Na not a problem, as long as you use a double front baffle. My 12" is mounted on a face that is only 12.5" across (due to calculation error) however I made up for it by using a second baffle for extra support


Do you a picture of a second baffle I think I know what it is put not positive. I want to use a 12" BTL which has a ouside diameter of 12.5" and put in a side of the box that is 15". I should be ok with that?

mazdakid
12-24-2006, 07:44 PM
yes thats more than enough height for a 12

bama350z
12-24-2006, 07:54 PM
this is what it's going in....................
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v313/bamamedstudent/000_0003_00.jpg

rpfuror
12-24-2006, 08:16 PM
mmmmmm... old broncos:)

rpfuror
12-24-2006, 08:18 PM
If I may be so blunt, but is the member paying for this box?

yeap bama350z is paying for it, Basically supplies and shipping (shipping is the majority of the cost). Sorry if it is not up to your standards (again)

PV Audio
12-24-2006, 09:10 PM
Ok.

dkmesa
12-24-2006, 10:04 PM
**** car bama. Love those old Broncos. You got a 350Z too??

bama350z
12-24-2006, 10:06 PM
nope, sold the 350z a few months back. I've had this bronco for a LONG time and didnt see a need for making a 400 dollar car payment when the bronco is paid for.. Thanks for the compliment...Stewart

rpfuror
12-25-2006, 06:04 PM
Heres are some more pictures. One of the brace and some of the box built. I need to do some sanding / calking but the box is about complete.

bama350z ... You can see the hole for the wire terminal on the back wall.. hope thats where you wanted it;)

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0029.jpg

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0030.jpg

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0032.jpg

BlackMaxima
12-25-2006, 08:06 PM
thats a nice box.
i dont have the time to make a box.
rpfuror, can you make a box for me too??
for my 12inch FIQ
but i dont want the same size as that box, something compact






ty

BlackMaxima
12-25-2006, 08:09 PM
Sorry if it is not up to your standards (again)


are you kiding me??
thats a nice *** box.
you did a very nice job.

rpfuror
12-25-2006, 08:11 PM
thats a nice box.
i dont have the time to make a box.
rpfuror, can you make a box for me too??
for my 12inch FIQ
but i dont want the same size as that box, something compact






ty

PM, sent... I can design a box to suite your needs.

ssj2xxgotenxx
12-25-2006, 08:52 PM
this is what it's going in....................
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v313/bamamedstudent/000_0003_00.jpg

I wouldn't feel very secure putting a system in that car. It's a very nice car though.

evan
12-25-2006, 11:35 PM
If I may be so blunt, but is the member paying for this box?
Why did you ask that?

bama350z
12-26-2006, 12:32 PM
I wouldn't feel very secure putting a system in that car. It's a very nice car though.
ive got a matching color hardtop, the soft top is just for when its warm.....alarms, etc..tinted back windows to the hardtop and a 'decoy' wal mart head unit in the dash, the real alpine CD-player is in a lockbox between the seats.

matt_martin87
12-26-2006, 01:25 PM
How much port area do you have on that box? I recently built a 2.5 cube box at 30hz and it annihilates the lows, but lacks from 40hz on up. I was considering making another box simallar to yours, and I need to know how much port area you used.

rpfuror
12-26-2006, 03:42 PM
matt_martin87 ... port area is 40 sq/in

heres the final pics...

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0034.jpg

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q145/rpfuror/DSC_0035.jpg

PV Audio
12-26-2006, 04:37 PM
Why did you ask that?
I ask that in every box building thread to see how confident the builder is in their work. It worked for my confidence, so I figure I'll pass it along. ;) :)

rpfuror
12-26-2006, 05:36 PM
:) actually, PV Audio has been quite a help for me getting back into design... search his nic he has alot of information to share.

PV Audio
12-26-2006, 08:49 PM
Yeah, but I'm also an ******* :laugh:

rpfuror
12-26-2006, 11:47 PM
I thought that was just UNDERSTOOD 8-)

PV Audio
12-27-2006, 12:03 AM
Got jokes, eh? I see ya.

:)