PDA

View Full Version : Installing Subs in Box



Miller
01-12-2003, 07:34 PM
I just made a custom box for my 2 10's. I have the box and was just wondering if there is anyhing special i need to do to install the subs.....Do I just screw the subs in or do i need some type of sealent so air wont leak through???

Wonderbread
01-12-2003, 07:41 PM
weather stripping..
http://www.eatel.net/~amptech/elecdisc/spboxnew2.htm
about half way down...

Miller
01-12-2003, 08:14 PM
it says i need weather stripping if i dont have vinyl or Carpet.....But what if I do have carpet....do I still need weather stripping or should I just screw it using the carpet in place for the weather striping???

Wonderbread
01-12-2003, 08:56 PM
you probably wont need it then..

evo2k3
01-12-2003, 10:00 PM
yeah, the speaker will seal fine to the carpet, only reason i can see usuing sealant would be mabey a fiberglass box, or just plain MDF.