PDA

View Full Version : new box build already!!



dvrmstrng
12-18-2006, 07:29 PM
sup guys,

i've had the box that PESTEELE made me in the grand cherokee for a few months now, but im home over christmas break and id like to take these few weeks to build my first box that i'd like to use in some competitions this upcoming season. Right now the 18" Q is in 9.3 Cubes ported at 28htz. I'm going to put up max dimensions so keep it under the window line this time sometime tomorrow. Would anyone be willing to design a box for me.

Also im looking for any time of recommendation for size / tuning to get LOUD for comps.



thanks guys.
work log included on this one.

bonesninja
12-18-2006, 07:33 PM
make sure you get the pics up..thats gotta get loud

80INCHES
12-18-2006, 07:44 PM
3.71cubes (after port and sub displacement)with 125 sqaure inch port tuned to 51hz
sub up port back
36wide x 14high x 22deep

80

dvrmstrng
12-18-2006, 07:52 PM
i didnt even get you dimensions whered you come up with those numb0rz

dvrmstrng
12-18-2006, 08:23 PM
80 you there man....

ssj2xxgotenxx
12-18-2006, 08:25 PM
Good luck with the build. 28hz is the way to go.

dvrmstrng
12-18-2006, 08:30 PM
i already have 28htz....

...are there people here who swap boxes frequently

Wkbdkid
12-18-2006, 08:33 PM
80s box sounds good.

dvrmstrng
12-18-2006, 08:34 PM
i know i wanna get the cut sheet

MikeyB
12-18-2006, 09:11 PM
3.71cubes (after port and sub displacement)with 125 sqaure inch port tuned to 51hz
sub up port back
36wide x 14high x 22deep

80


?!?!?!?!?!

Its an 18

MikeyB
12-18-2006, 09:15 PM
10cubes @40Hz with 100sq in of port?

skadude016
12-18-2006, 09:18 PM
10cubes @40Hz with 100sq in of port?

for high numbers? no sir

bdawson72
12-18-2006, 09:19 PM
get in contact with with ndmustang or shawn flemming.....also if u have any box questions you should ask them over on Fi's forum @ soundsolutionsaudio.com

MikeyB
12-18-2006, 09:20 PM
for high numbers? no sir

With the power why not? I dont see how less than 4 cubes would even be considered for an 18, if theres something I dont know please inform me.

PV Audio
12-18-2006, 09:22 PM
3.71cubes (after port and sub displacement)with 125 sqaure inch port tuned to 51hz
sub up port back
36wide x 14high x 22deep

80
:wow: That's ****ing tiny, care to explain?

MikeyB
12-18-2006, 09:22 PM
BTW is this going to be a daily/loud box or just strictly to get loud at comps then swap boxes back to your daily? I would hate to hear a 4 cube box at 50hz with any kind of music.

MikeyB
12-18-2006, 09:23 PM
:wow: That's ****ing tiny, care to explain?

I would expect that for a 15

PV Audio
12-18-2006, 10:45 PM
Yeah, but an 18?

Immacomputer
12-18-2006, 10:51 PM
With the power why not? I dont see how less than 4 cubes would even be considered for an 18, if theres something I dont know please inform me.

The larger the enclosure, the lower the high frequency efficiency. Making a smaller enclosure increases the air spring and can cause a peak in the higher frequencies. Have you ever heard a sub in a sealed enclosure that is far too small for it? Have you noticed the lack of low end and the peak in the upper frequencies?

In a Cherokee, I've seen people do very well in small enclosures tuned to ~45hz. Isn't snoopdan's Cherokee tuned right around there and something like 4 cubes for his 18?

Dtrickz
12-19-2006, 12:01 AM
yea i think snoops box is around 4 cubes...it looks to small for a 18 but it wangs

Kenny Pollock
12-19-2006, 12:44 AM
I wouldn't do less than 4.5 cubes, although anyone at Fi will tell you to do at least 6 cubes.

Personally, if I didn't have a wall and had one 18... I'd do 6 cubes tuned higher for shows, 8 cubes tuned LOW for daily.

I had my BTL in 10 cubes tuned to 30 and it wanged....

dvrmstrng
12-19-2006, 12:49 AM
yeah my 9.3 tuned to 28 for daily is perfect...im just looking for something to get loud at competitions with and then swap it out

iamamp3pimp
12-19-2006, 10:53 AM
what are you looking to get out of it?

dvrmstrng
12-19-2006, 03:16 PM
this box i juts want SPL for comps....wanna be below the window line though to put me in street C i think it is, i got 1200 watts and stock electrical so i think ill be in street C below the window line

skadude016
12-19-2006, 03:22 PM
this box i juts want SPL for comps....wanna be below the window line though to put me in street C i think it is, i got 1200 watts and stock electrical so i think ill be in street C below the window line

your not in street C because of watts its inches. 1 18 or 2 15's street c

dvrmstrng
12-19-2006, 03:23 PM
yeah yeah i knew that just putting what kinda watts im running out there..