PDA

View Full Version : Is this too big/too much port area?



NoPh33rRaCiNg
12-17-2006, 08:51 PM
I was just making sure that this wasent too much box for this sub. im planning to get a 15'' brahma. i was planning on 5 cubes @ 32 hz with 84 inches of port area. im getting an suv so i have the room. and i wasent sure of the driver displacement so i just put it at .2 ft per woofer. any advice. thanks for the help.

http://subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=35.5&Eh=15&Dia=9&Xmax=28.5&Vd=.14&NumW=1&Vb=5&Fb=32&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 08:52 PM
looks fine , how you like that D3 you got now?

vetkilr
12-17-2006, 08:52 PM
thats a good size if not too much power on it is given

NoPh33rRaCiNg
12-17-2006, 08:54 PM
looks fine , how you like that D3 you got now?
its pretty good for a single 12. not any serious setup right now has great SQ and gets decently loud. but once i get more room im gonna go way more spl. and vetklr do you think a hifonics bx1605d running 1600rms~ @ 1 ohm is too much. i believe the brahma is 1600 rms and i kno the hifonics is about 1400 real watts

helotaxi
12-18-2006, 11:10 AM
The power rating ofthe sub isn't the issue, that's only taking thermal power into consideration. The issue is the relative control of the cone offered by a box with such large port. You might find that it isn't going to take a lot of power to get the sub to its max stroke because of the size of the port.

NoPh33rRaCiNg
12-18-2006, 01:20 PM
thanks guys. ill prob bump it down to about 1000-1200 rms with diff amp.

Mr Bojangles
12-18-2006, 01:23 PM
or just make the port smaller.. instead of 6.25, go to 4.25

NoPh33rRaCiNg
12-18-2006, 01:27 PM
or just make the port smaller.. instead of 6.25, go to 4.25
would that change the tuning?

helotaxi
12-18-2006, 02:31 PM
You'd need to make the port shorter because of the decrease in area. The overall box would be smaller, too which isn't a bad thing last I checked.

iamamp3pimp
12-18-2006, 02:45 PM
I personally always liked what they call too much port area, but thats a personal opinion.

NoPh33rRaCiNg
12-18-2006, 04:02 PM
yea, i think ill keep that box the same, but just run less watts. i dont wanna push it too hard in that box and waste away $200+