PDA

View Full Version : which box design should i go with?



billabongcr
12-17-2006, 05:38 PM
I designed a box on RE's website using their new box design program. Came out:

Box Width: 35
Box Height: 19
Box Top Depth: 10
Box Bottom Depth: 10
Wood Thichness: .75
Square Port Height: 17.5
Square Port Width: 1.5
Square Port Lenght 1: 7.75
Square Port Length 2: 8
Total Port Length: 18.75
Square Port Diameter: 5.781222885
Square Port Area: 26.25
Square Port Volume Internal: 492.1875
Square Port Volume Displaced: 503.4375
Box Volume(Ft3): 2.592
Box Volume(In3): 4479.6875
Tuned Frequency(Fb): 34.4507186306804


Box Bottom Plate: 35 x 10
Box Top Plate: 35 x 10
Box Left Plate: 9.25 x 17.5
Box Right Plate: 8.5 x 17.5
Box Back Plate: 35 x 17.5
Box Front Plate: 32.75 x 17.5
Port 1: 7 x 17.5
Port 2: 8 x 17.5

Or someone here on CA designed a box for me..came out:

Number of drivers : 2
Box type : Vented
Box size : 2.500 ft^3
Tuning frequency : 37.00 Hz
Vent : 1 vent(s)
26.50 in length for each
2.50 x 17.50 in rectangle
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a189/billabongcr/SSD.jpg

which would be better to run my 2 SSD 10s? both subs will have about 1k on each woofer. which of these box designs seems more accurate for my drivers. ive never really did a box design before..and my calculations comes out closer to one than the other..i just want to see who agrees with the one i think i should go with

so..RE or CA member?

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 05:51 PM
anyone?

JoshHd6
12-17-2006, 05:52 PM
10 inches deep..WTF..u messed up sumwhere..

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 05:53 PM
no..i need a shallow box

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 06:01 PM
how did i mess up

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 06:20 PM
goin to get the wood in a half hour..last chance for criticisms

saywhat?
12-17-2006, 06:22 PM
why so shallow...and MAKE SURE the subs will clear that port....with it being so shallow.

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 06:26 PM
thats why im thinkin the RE one..the inside port wall is shorter so it clears the subs

saywhat?
12-17-2006, 06:29 PM
i wish i could just cut a few pieces of wood and build a box lol. having to build in trunk ftl.

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 06:40 PM
i usually have to take my seats out

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 06:52 PM
ok i did some more measuring..with my subs an inch apart and 2 inches from the end of the box..my port wall on the inside will be exactly to the outside perimeter of my sub..leaving the actual port wall about 2 more inches away from my motor on the inside. good?

if that makes sense

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 06:57 PM
ok, start over. whats the mounting depth of that sub? whatever it is subtract .75(front baffle), and then it should be a good 2 inches away from the port wall

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 06:57 PM
maybe this will help
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a189/billabongcr/untitled-4.jpg

sub mounting is 6'

port=1.5. that leaves 7.75''

so i have 1.75'' of clearence between port and sub

if i make the volume of airspace smaller..will that give me more room between port and sub?
or should port go in middle

PowerNaudio
12-17-2006, 06:59 PM
im sure you'll need a bigger port, increase the port area around 96"sq to 100"sq to lower your port noise to the none audible zone.

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 07:00 PM
h/o ill whip it up how it will be exactly in 3d cad

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 07:07 PM
yea, you'll have about 1.75" of clearance with RE's design, you should be fine. PM me if you want the sketchup of it

edit: just read ur post 2 posts up from me :crap:

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 07:33 PM
if you have that sketchup ill take it

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 07:36 PM
if i redesign my box with the port in the middle..would that be better?

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 07:50 PM
whats ur aim?

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 07:51 PM
if i redesign my box with the port in the middle..would that be better?

prolly not, itd prolly take up more space

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 07:53 PM
billabongcr is my aim

**** it..im trying to get my subs to perform in the smallest space possible and i halfway cant figure it out

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 08:02 PM
http://i11.tinypic.com/2ah9so9.jpg

this in internal

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 08:06 PM
yalls autocad skills are crazy. i took half a semester of it and was like**** that

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 08:09 PM
so ill be good with this box?

rpfuror
12-17-2006, 08:10 PM
Same thing I stated in your last forum, as mentioned above with that volume for air in the port your going to have problems with noise / distortion. It should be somewhere around 3 inch min to get the volume you need with the power your stating.

acold7dusta
12-17-2006, 08:10 PM
yalls autocad skills are crazy. i took half a semester of it and was like**** that

im still only gettin like a C in that class..i liked autocad inventor much better. solidworks is fun also. but cad does come in handy on my laptop for sure

Pyro_By_Nature
12-17-2006, 08:26 PM
1.5" wide port? LMAO! Might as well seal the box.In that case, the port will probaby hurt you more than anything.All the port is going to do is "SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHSHHHHHHHHHHHHSHSHSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH HHHHSHHHHHHHHSHSHSHHHHHHHHHHH"

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 08:28 PM
and before when people badmouthed you i defended you mountaineer..now you can go **** yourself

billabongcr
12-17-2006, 09:22 PM
ok..im scrapping the whole last idea.

box will pretty much be the same dimensions as last time..but the width will be 11'' and the depth 19

Pyro_By_Nature
12-17-2006, 09:46 PM
and before when people badmouthed you i defended you mountaineer..now you can go **** yourself

That was your choice, yeah I guess you can say I'm grateful.But I am telling you the truth on this box.Could I have worded it nicer? Yes.But seriously, not enough port area.

I'd suggest you look into aeroports.You could get away with 3 4" aeroports.

rpfuror
12-18-2006, 04:31 PM
Same thing I stated in your last forum, as mentioned above with that volume for air in the port your going to have problems with noise / distortion. It should be somewhere around 3 inch min to get the volume you need with the power your stating.

^ I worded it nice;)

billabongcr
12-18-2006, 04:33 PM
i redesigned the entire box. 5.5 inches of port :) with 58 inches of port area