PDA

View Full Version : Port problems, help please



Symon_say
12-16-2006, 08:04 AM
I recently made 2 box of fiberglass for my sub one on each side of the car, but or the front i have to go, and let some do the front, i say him put a 3"x8", and hi did, but those dimension were for a round port not for 3x8 by 4" lenght, so now my box are tuned anoub 70hz and sounds like crap.

I just have about 2.5" to play with, and i don want to make the box again, can i put 2 2" port and seal the gaps around the old port and the new one. The ports are gonna be outside of the box like a exhaust. Are the 2" ok, or should i try 2.5"??

xluben
12-16-2006, 08:40 AM
ideally for a 12" sub you'd want two 4" diameter ports, but if you don't have space, just go as big as you can, but the bigger the ports are, the longer they'll have to be.

some pics would be very helpful as well.

Symon_say
12-16-2006, 10:36 AM
ideally for a 12" sub you'd want two 4" diameter ports, but if you don't have space, just go as big as you can, but the bigger the ports are, the longer they'll have to be.

some pics would be very helpful as well.

my subs are 10"

and here are the pics, the box is about 1.25 cu.ft

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=201393

azbass
12-16-2006, 10:43 AM
what does pioneer recomend for a vented box for thoes woofers?

id say seal off the ports now. and make a new hole for the round port. in a different location in the box.

Symon_say
12-16-2006, 11:13 AM
what does pioneer recomend for a vented box for thoes woofers?

id say seal off the ports now. and make a new hole for the round port. in a different location in the box.

that's a nice idea

xluben
12-16-2006, 02:04 PM
yeah, going sealed could be a good temp. solution.

i think i'd seen those pics before, very nice!

i was wondering if i could get a pic of the ports, and where to wanted to fire time.

BASSMEKANIK
12-16-2006, 02:18 PM
I recently made 2 box of fiberglass for my sub one on each side of the car, but or the front i have to go, and let some do the front, i say him put a 3"x8", and hi did, but those dimension were for a round port not for 3x8 by 4" lenght, so now my box are tuned anoub 70hz and sounds like crap.

I just have about 2.5" to play with, and i don want to make the box again, can i put 2 2" port and seal the gaps around the old port and the new one. The ports are gonna be outside of the box like a exhaust. Are the 2" ok, or should i try 2.5"??

speak english... :)

xluben
12-16-2006, 05:34 PM
speak english... :)

i believe it is his second language :fyi:

rotciv005
12-16-2006, 05:36 PM
lol

Symon_say
12-17-2006, 06:05 PM
speak english... :)

Is my second language, sorry if cant make the translation right.