PDA

View Full Version : Dodge guys..i got a question.

billabongcr
12-11-2006, 07:53 PM
alright..i took off my door panel to replace my components..ive had a set of kicker ks6.2's sittin in my room for a few months figured they are better in the truck than on the shelf..so i pulled the door apart, got everything taken apart and went to wire the speakers in and it has this little connector? its a gray square connector and the stock mid just plugs into it.

what the **** do i do with this thing? naturally the kicker components dont have this dodge connector..and i dont know how to get around it. my first thought was to cut the connector off and use the (what im guessing) is + and - wires running into the back of it and just hook into them manually. then i thought i should check with yall first..see what anybody had to say.

this is my first time putting in components..and i dont want to **** it up.

i have a 02 dodge dakota extended cab..and does anyone know what size stock mids are in the back? manual doesnt say.

dont make fun. first time. i want to do it right.

heyman421
12-11-2006, 07:57 PM
just regular old speaker wires

careful, tho, if there's 4 wires, the factory tweet (if there was one) probably relayed off of the woofer

billabongcr
12-11-2006, 07:59 PM
awesome, so just cut the connector off? theres only 2 wires..no factory tweets. naturally puttin some in tho

heyman421
12-11-2006, 08:03 PM
just find a wiring diagram for the colors, and that's all you need

if you just mount the x'overs in the doors, you'll be set.

billabongcr
12-11-2006, 08:08 PM
right on. pretty much everything i was thinking. and the 2 wires going into the connector are labeled, one has a black stripe, one doesnt. so im set on which ones which.

and wheres a good place to mount the crossovers in the door? to the inside of the door skin? glue?

acold7dusta
12-11-2006, 08:14 PM