PDA

View Full Version : About to buy this, do I need anything else?



btnhfan
12-04-2006, 12:07 AM
Time for hd.

Im buying this antenna this morning.

http://www.antennasdirect.com/DB2_Indoor_antenna.html


Will I need a pre-amp?
Run shouldnt be over 20ft.

Anything else I may need?

phyphoestilic
12-04-2006, 12:08 AM
o0h good find, I was trying to look for an antenna for my TV too. :D

btnhfan
12-04-2006, 01:49 PM
Well I just bought it. :)


Should be here in 2 days.

I need to pick up some rg6 though. Theres some extra rg59 around here I think, but Ive read rg6 is much better to use.

joetama
12-05-2006, 01:14 AM
Look into some Times Microwave LMR-ULTRAFLEX 240 or 300. A local Two-Way shop should be able to get it for you. It's a little expensive but worth every penny!!!!

btnhfan
12-05-2006, 03:40 AM
Two way shop?

How expensive is expensive?


And is it much different than cable I can get at radioshack?

joetama
12-05-2006, 01:46 PM
Two way shop?

How expensive is expensive?


And is it much different than cable I can get at radioshack?

Two-Way Radio, like a Kenwood or Motorola dealer.

I think that last time I looked LMR-300 (not ultra-flex) was about $1.90 or so a foot... But, it's been a while.

The differences is much much less loss and you keep a much more pure signal meaning that you TV will get a better signal. I've used this cable from VHF firetruck installs to Jumpers in UHF/800 LTR Trunking installs and have had up to 8 db increase in signal. Which means that the SIGNAD would go way up! Which is what you want!!! We used it on hard satilite installs too, and have had extremely good luck with it there too.... The only thing is you will have to finigal the "F" connector for it...

btnhfan
12-05-2006, 02:34 PM
Okay.

Ill see if I can find one around here.

springy101
12-05-2006, 02:41 PM
oops wrong thread lol

btnhfan
12-07-2006, 06:41 PM
Got it in today.


But I cant get any hd channels at all :(

I dont know what it is.

btnhfan
12-07-2006, 07:11 PM
Okay well now I moved it onto a metal railing and Im getting the sole vhf channel in hd now.

I find it weird I get that and not any other uhf ones...

Its nbc. Im happy kind of because the office is nbc. And my name is earl.

joetama
12-07-2006, 08:08 PM
Is it a VHF and UHF antenna???

btnhfan
12-07-2006, 08:11 PM
Nope lol.


UHF antenna only.