PDA

View Full Version : can you bypass internal crossover on BASH plate amp?



thadman
12-01-2006, 05:53 PM
Im looking for a bunch of amps to run active for my 3-way dipole speakers and the current BASH plate amplifiers from partsexpress.com look EXTREMELY attractive

The 300 watt @ 4ohm costs only $105 shipped and the 500 watt costs $159 shipped

I'd like to run 3 per tower, so 6 total (1 for Peerless HDS 1", 1 for Seas W18E, 1 for Dayton RS15 HF)

Im not sure exactly if these will work "full-range", this is what it mentions for its line level inputs:

I looked up information on the BASH plate amps and it mentioned this:

"For connection to a full-range stereo line level signal, use the left and right line level inputs, the on-board low-pass crossover will be in effect. For connection to the subwoofer out on a home theater receiver, use either the LFE input to bypass the internal crossover or the Left or Right input for additional crossover flexibility."

Has anybody had any direct experience running these amplifiers? I'd like to know if I can bypass the internal crossover, and run them full-range. Thanks

joetama
12-03-2006, 02:17 PM
Check the link out I'm going to add...

A little full range ICEpower would most likely do you proper.


http://www.icepower.bang-olufsen.com/sw2037.asp

thadman
12-03-2006, 03:49 PM
Those look interesting, how much $$$ and where could I purchase some? I googled them and didnt come up with anything.

thylantyr
12-03-2006, 05:49 PM
Ice won't be cheap.

Look at the UcD modules.

http://www.adireaudio.com/Home/UcDAmps.htm

$149 for 180w @ 4 ohms
$219 for 400w @ 4 ohms

You still need a power supply, case, etc.

Send an email to Bash to ask those questions about the crossover.
http://www.bashaudio.com/