PDA

View Full Version : vented enclosure for hd3 15



exportdrums11
11-29-2006, 01:24 PM
I just got a hd3 15 and I need to build a box for it. I know on the audioque site it says 4.5 cu/ft but they don't give any port info. I've been told that I should tune this sub low so should I build a bigger box that 4.5cu/ft? If so what size and how much sq inches of port area should I use. I drive a 99 yukon, so it's a big truck, and I listen to all kinds of music. I'm trying to go for a good mix of spl and sq. I'm up for suggestions.

GrnEydDvl
11-29-2006, 11:44 PM
If you go to their website they tell you how to design a box for their subs. It is in one of the drop down menus.

Their recommendation is that you tune to around 40 hz.

kicker06
11-30-2006, 12:12 AM
Do what they say. The sub as some say peak's below tuning, so tune it @ 40hz and you'll have a good daily box.

4.5cu is good for a 15".

BTW, from when you paid, how long did it take to reach you?

exportdrums11
11-30-2006, 01:56 AM
Thanks for the info guys. It was shipped on the 21st, and even with thanksgiving I got it today. So 7 days is how long it took.

GrnEydDvl
11-30-2006, 03:01 PM
Thanks for the info guys. It was shipped on the 21st, and even with thanksgiving I got it today. So 7 days is how long it took.

He asked how long it was from when you paid til when you received it.

grillman6000
11-30-2006, 03:09 PM
DONT TUNE IT TO 40hz.....
32-36 will be good.....

kicker06
11-30-2006, 04:53 PM
DONT TUNE IT TO 40hz.....
32-36 will be good.....

What the **** do you know?

DJ says tune it to 40, everyone that owns it says tune it to 40. It peaks lower than tuning sometimes about 7hz below, so why tune it to 32-36?

BTW, I meant from how long you ordered it. I hear it takes a while for them to build it.