PDA

View Full Version : running two different sets of mids with a component set



darren700
11-29-2006, 11:13 AM
ok, i bought a set of mixed cdt hd-62 components, (his hd mids were stolen)
it has the drt-25 tweeters, 560 crossovers, and ascendant audio 6.5" poly midranges.
i originally planned on replacing the aa mids with cdt m6's mids. but now i have another idea.
could i run the set of compents with the aa mids hooked up to the 560 x-over on two channels of my amp, then run a pair of m6's sealed in kicks off of the other two channels, using the amp to bandpass the m6 mids? i planned on using the US Amps XT-1600.4 (200watts rms x 4 @4ohms) for power. if i used this setup would i run into problems with cancellation because the two pairs of mids are perpendicular to eachother? thanks for any help

ngsm13
11-29-2006, 11:25 AM
Why?

If anything, I'd run the AA's as dedicated midbass... in a properly deadened door. Then run a set of mids as midrange.

You'd want to properly cross everything over. Basically, without a full active xover, and amplifier capable of of bandpassing over a wide range of frequencies... it's not worth it... and kind of difficult.

The answer to your DIRECT question... of running both of them... on the same frequencies... that would sound horrible.

nG

darren700
11-29-2006, 11:28 AM
Why?

If anything, I'd run the AA's as dedicated midbass... in a properly deadened door. Then run a set of mids as midrange.

You'd want to properly cross everything over. Basically, without a full active xover, and amplifier capable of of bandpassing over a wide range of frequencies... it's not worth it... and kind of difficult.

The answer to your DIRECT question... of running both of them... on the same frequencies... that would sound horrible.

nG

im just wondering if i should be happy with the aa mids when they come, or should i upgrade to m6's?

ngsm13
11-29-2006, 11:33 AM
im just wondering if i should be happy with the aa mids when they come, or should i upgrade to m6's?

I'll tell you right now, the stock 560 xover will have a crossover point higher than I'd recommend for the AA Poly's to perform the best...

nG

darren700
11-29-2006, 11:38 AM
I'll tell you right now, the stock 560 xover will have a crossover point higher than I'd recommend for the AA Poly's to perform the best...

nG

so you think i should just get m6's and not use the aa mids?

ngsm13
11-29-2006, 11:39 AM
Sure.

Link to the M6's and specs?

nG

darren700
11-29-2006, 11:42 AM
Sure.

Link to the M6's and specs?

nG

from what ive read, they are very capable drivers..
http://cgi.ebay.com/CDT-Audio-M6-6-1-2-mid-bass-sub-bass-driver-1-PAIR_W0QQitemZ150062034413QQihZ005QQcategoryZ32819 QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

ngsm13
11-29-2006, 11:47 AM
Look to be solid drivers.

So essentially, you'd be replacing them with what was meant to come with them.

That is what I would recommend.

nG

darren700
11-29-2006, 11:48 AM
technically they came with hd-6 mids, however they do also sell this set with m6 mids :)

ngsm13
11-29-2006, 11:49 AM
technically they came with hd-6 mids, however they do also sell this set with m6 mids :)

Exactly. Do it.

nG