PDA

View Full Version : spare tire ported?



05_ZX636
11-28-2006, 01:26 PM
has anybody built a fiberglass enclosure in spare tire well and ported it? i will start my new box this weekend for 1 hcca 10d and not really looking for lots of bass, but still good sound. and im trying to keep the height of the box down as much too. thanks

reneeb7363
11-28-2006, 01:30 PM
yes! there is one avaiable on another forum (fiberglass forums?)... I will get the address for you and post here in a minute

Edit: http://fiberglassforums.com/showthread.php?p=9725#post9725

it is kind of a wheel well install... not typical like in a trunked car...but it gives you a good idea how he did it and got the ports to work.

Good Luck!

azbass
11-28-2006, 01:31 PM
yes, yes i have.

05_ZX636
11-28-2006, 03:35 PM
any idea how to port 1 10 in a honda hatch spare tire enclosure

ultimate157
11-28-2006, 05:52 PM
spare tire ported?

:fyi: Last I checked tires work better sealed.

grillman6000
11-28-2006, 06:11 PM
:fyi: Last I checked tires work better sealed.

that what i'm saying....

Frankensuby
11-28-2006, 06:59 PM
:fyi: Last I checked tires work better sealed.


He's using Run flat's :naughty:

05_ZX636
11-29-2006, 03:26 AM
well, the orion 10d manual calls for 1.4 cu.ft with 3" diameter by 12"long port. i was trying to figure out how to mount port in box using spare tire well enclosure but now im not sure if im going that route. anyway it also says not to use an amp that doesnt have INTELLIQ built in with the orion subs. does anybody else run these subs with different amps also? thanks

bdawson72
11-29-2006, 03:50 AM
haha seems to be like they are tryin 2 bullshit u

05_ZX636
11-29-2006, 04:04 AM
that just seems F^ up to say they wont cover the sub under warranty if you dont use an amp with intelliq built in. im just going to go ahead and put my kx1200 on it at 1 ohm and if it blows oh well.
also, do i need to use the subsonic filter on this sub?

bdawson72
11-29-2006, 04:05 AM
itz gay

96GTIVR6
11-29-2006, 04:26 AM
that just seems F^ up to say they wont cover the sub under warranty if you dont use an amp with intelliq built in. im just going to go ahead and put my kx1200 on it at 1 ohm and if it blows oh well.
also, do i need to use the subsonic filter on this sub?

Can't say I've ever blown a speaker... and I'm not using this magical INTELLIQ you speak of...
http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m313/96gtivr6/orly.gif

Back to your original question, yes many people have made either ported or sealed fiberglass enclosures in the place of the factory spare tire. It seems though that based on your initial lack of knowledge with fiberglass that you might consider a slightly simpler means of enclosure construction (such as wood) for your first project and then move on to fiberglass down the road. When you decide to though the process will be something like this:
Remove carpet
Put tape over entire area where you will take the fiberglass mold
Spray glue tin foil to tape (optional)
Lay down fiberglass resin and mat
Cut out top plate from 3/8" MDF and fiberglass onto now removed mold
Router out mounting circle for speaker
Cut out a spot for the port, and attach port.

Happy glassin!

05_ZX636
11-29-2006, 05:18 AM
i have already built one fiberglass spare tire enclosure for 2 jl 10w3's but ended up selling that and getting 2 l7 kicker 15's and walling off my civic. then it was totalled and now looking to build another spare tire box. but i wanted a ported 1 this time. i just dont understand how to mount a 3" x 12" long port in well. and im not that great on figuring out ports.
so im just going to build a regular ported box. thanks for help anyway