PDA

View Full Version : port noise?



bvr_j_0969
11-26-2006, 10:33 PM
ok so i started building my box friday got some of the peices cut and assembled and got to looking and i think my port might be to small and cause port noise.
the box is going to be for 6 re 8's ported tuned to 30 hz. the box is 3.4 cft gross before any displacements. i was going to use 1 port 3"x8"x16" long. is this port to small for these subs? also would you do

1 port 3"x8"x16" long
OR
2 ports 2"X5"x15" long

this is my first ported box build and if anyone have anymore suggestions on what i could do i would appreciate(sp?) it. thanks

edit: i know i had another thread about this for aero ports but come to find out the ports i had were to big to fit in my box. sorry for any stupid questions or aggravation

mobeious
11-26-2006, 10:38 PM
well u got 24sq i usually use 10sq per 1cube but with 8x3 port u might have a lil since u have around 300sq of woofer i would do 30-40sq

bvr_j_0969
11-26-2006, 10:41 PM
my ports have to fit in a box straight and the box is 21" tall which i dont think will be possible without bending them,

how do you figure up how much sq" you have

edit im a ******* i figure out how to get the port area, multply the width and depth of the port.

Immacomputer
11-26-2006, 10:49 PM
my ports have to fit in a box straight and the box is 21" tall which i dont think will be possible without bending them,

how do you figure up how much sq" you have

edit im a ******* i figure out how to get the port area, multply the width and depth of the port.

If I showed you a yard that was 10ft wide by 10ft long, how many square feet would the yard be? If you can answer this, you can answer your own question. If you can't, go back to 3rd grade.

bvr_j_0969
11-26-2006, 10:55 PM
yeah i had already figured it out i thought square inches...square is flat, so the length shouldnt matter. if i had thought about it a little more i would have figured it out.

bvr_j_0969
11-26-2006, 11:02 PM
what about a port 2"x15"x18" long that would give me 30 sq inches, but that 2" just seems like its to small