PDA

View Full Version : Designing 8 cube box..need help....



Buick3800power
11-24-2006, 03:12 PM
I plan on running 4 12" Infinity 1242w's, they each will be getting about 200 rms a piece.

I'd like to put them each in 2 cu ft, or 1.75 atleast, not sure what I would want it tuned to.

I'd appreciate it if someone could design me a decent sized box, it's going in the trunk of a Park Avenue, and I will cut my backseat out if the space requires it.

Opinions/suggestions/box plans are welcome.

Thanks. :veryhapp:

jeepintn
11-24-2006, 03:12 PM
i can design u a box, pm me with your max deminsions

Buick3800power
11-24-2006, 03:13 PM
i can design u a box, pm me with your max deminsions

I'm heading out to the gym right now, but I will be back in roughly an hour with dimensions. Thanks alot bro, I appreciate it.

Buick3800power
11-24-2006, 04:20 PM
Hey, the dimensions are as follows....

No wider than 36", and no taller than 16".....that's about it......

In terms of depth, go all out. I am more than willing to cut out my back seat.

Thanks for the help!

mikey060
11-24-2006, 05:55 PM
http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/1300/8cubes35hzfe7.png (http://imageshack.us)

8.5 cubes after port displacement...5" port 11 inches long. i have never done a big box like this so that seems like a small port to me haha. anyhow i would say jeepinit will have a much better plan...i just thought i would give it a shot:cool:

rpfuror
11-24-2006, 09:24 PM
what do you have that box tuned to?? I come up with ~36.5Hz with a 11" long port...

Buick3800power
11-24-2006, 09:45 PM
Holy crap. That looks complicated as hell.

Aren't there "chambers" for each sub, as in sealed off? And I thought each chamber would get a port.....not just one big port.

Awesome looking box though, I just need a few of those things cleared up.

acold7dusta
11-24-2006, 10:34 PM
how wide is that port? it looks like it would have to be alot bigger to be tuned to 36 hz. but then again ive never tested a box 8 cu ft

rpfuror
11-25-2006, 01:06 AM
Holy crap. That looks complicated as hell.

Aren't there "chambers" for each sub, as in sealed off? And I thought each chamber would get a port.....not just one big port.

Awesome looking box though, I just need a few of those things cleared up.

Well, that box is about as simple as you can get with a ported box.

The port would be tuned to the drivers volume in this case 8 cu/ft total volume.

This can be done with 4 chamber each having it's own port, but it would be alot bigger then this box as you would have to add the volume of each port for each chamber... etc.

PM me if you want me to build you plans for a box different then this one.

acold7dusta;

I calculated that @ 11 inches log and 5 inches wide then it would be somewhere around the 36Hz.. with the volume indicated.

mikey060
11-25-2006, 01:12 AM
yea its 5 inch's wide and tuned to 35hz...apperently its a little higher:p:

mikey060
11-25-2006, 01:13 AM
Holy crap. That looks complicated as hell.

Aren't there "chambers" for each sub, as in sealed off? And I thought each chamber would get a port.....not just one big port.

Awesome looking box though, I just need a few of those things cleared up.

haha a port for each would be farrr more complicated. as mentioned it is pretty basic:)

Buick3800power
11-25-2006, 01:13 PM
I just figured there would have to be a sealed off chamber for each sub, with it's own port......

So it can be one BIG open box, with one giant port?

Thanks for all the help, btw. :)

jeepintn
11-25-2006, 01:15 PM
I just figured there would have to be a sealed off chamber for each sub, with it's own port......

So it can be one BIG open box, with one giant port?

Thanks for all the help, btw. :)

yes. four chambered subs with four seperate ports would be very complicated, and i believe wind up bigger in the end.

PV Audio
11-25-2006, 02:07 PM
http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/1300/8cubes35hzfe7.png (http://imageshack.us)

8.5 cubes after port displacement...5" port 11 inches long. i have never done a big box like this so that seems like a small port to me haha. anyhow i would say jeepinit will have a much better plan...i just thought i would give it a shot:cool:
Rhinoceros...:woot:

I still like SketchUp better for rectangles, but for fiberglass mockups, nothing at all can beat Rhino for the price and learning curve.

mikey060
11-25-2006, 02:31 PM
i <3 my rhino. i dont really know how to use sketch up so i just use rhino...it take a few minutes to do a box so eh, i will stick to rhino

and yes, you can do pimp fiberglass models:D. im goign to do one right now...just for the hell of it

Death By Bass
11-25-2006, 03:25 PM
that sub box wont actually fit through a trunk opening... just so you know...

Buick3800power
11-25-2006, 05:19 PM
Would I be better off building two seperate boxes?

Death By Bass
11-25-2006, 05:20 PM
Would I be better off building two seperate boxes?

you'd be better off making a half height wall inplace of the rear seat, that entends into the trunk, with the woofers front firing :)

Buick3800power
11-25-2006, 05:21 PM
Hmmmmm, I'll have to think about it......

mtdewelf
11-25-2006, 05:22 PM
or build it in the car, if you don't want to get rid of rearseats.

Death By Bass
11-25-2006, 05:25 PM
or build it in the car, if you don't want to get rid of rearseats.

I dont think that enclosure would fit, even if it was built in the car...

but, seeing as we were only given two dimensions to work with...... :p