PDA

View Full Version : bandpass or ported



crakerhead
01-06-2003, 12:41 AM
which is louder, bandpass or ported?

crakerhead
01-06-2003, 12:52 AM
what's 6th order? is that like this... http://www.sounddomain.com/member_pages/view_page.pl?page_id=284040&page=3

Savant
01-06-2003, 12:54 AM
A 6th order bandpass will have ports in both chambers (4th order has ports in one chamber).. I'm not sure that the link you put up is 6th order..

crakerhead
01-06-2003, 01:05 AM
so basically all i need to do is put 2 more port holes in the top chamber?

Savant
01-06-2003, 01:10 AM
You should get WinISD Pro.. it lets you figure out 6th order bandpass.. unfortunately, it doesn't give you box dimentions, only total volume.. you would have to figure out port volume, speaker volume, etc and build the box that way.. not gonna be the easiest thing in the world..

Gauntlet
01-06-2003, 01:15 AM
This would be a start for 6th order bandpass - http://www.ljudia.com/isdno/6thorder.html

Every aspect of the box has to be made specifically for your particular subwoofers specs....and has to be done perfectly.....not the easiest thing in the world