PDA

View Full Version : crossover needed with h/u



corto
11-16-2006, 05:55 PM
i just got my set of cdt's today and i want to run them off the headunit i can just not use my crossover that came with it unttill a week or so untill i get my amp hooked up?

iceteebone
11-16-2006, 05:57 PM
why would you not want to use the crossover?

corto
11-16-2006, 06:04 PM
i dont understand how i would use the cross over and where i would even mount them if im running it off the headunit for a week.

iceteebone
11-16-2006, 06:06 PM
the same as you would an amp. the main wires into the crossover and then from the crossover to you mids and tweets. idk how you would wire four speakers to 2 headunit channels

corto
11-16-2006, 06:07 PM
alright thanks ..

corto
11-16-2006, 06:10 PM
i have 4 channels off the headunit tho? because i am not using my 6x9s?

iceteebone
11-16-2006, 06:11 PM
i have 4 channels off the headunit tho? because i am not using my 6x9s?

so you were gonna mount the mids in back and tweets up front? or re-wire your car? it's quite easy to use the xover with a stock radio

corto
11-16-2006, 06:13 PM
nope mount the tweeters on the dash and the mids in my doors. where could i mount the xover i cant mount it behind the radio,
in my doors?

iceteebone
11-16-2006, 06:15 PM
yea but you would have to run wire from your headunit to the tweeters, and then you'd be running active and i assume the deck has no active crossover? mount the xover in the door where the main speaker leads are from the factory and then wire in your mids and tweets

squeak9798
11-16-2006, 07:27 PM
nope mount the tweeters on the dash and the mids in my doors. where could i mount the xover i cant mount it behind the radio,
in my doors?

In the doors works fine, just be sure it's between the door panel and the inner sheetmetal so that the xover won't get wet.

squeak9798
11-16-2006, 07:28 PM
i have 4 channels off the headunit tho? because i am not using my 6x9s?

Only use the front outputs then.