PDA

View Full Version : Question about port placement?



geowick07
11-16-2006, 03:50 AM
http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=32&Eh=15&Dia=6&Xmax=27&Vd=.16&NumW=1&Vb=2.5&Fb=36&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0
I am curious if i can take that second port piece, and move it to the other side of the enclosure, making two ports instead of one. this shouldn't change any tuning or anything, should it? basically, i am trying to stay away from 180 degree turns, and the only way to do it would be to have two ports the same length. will this work?

SPL_Lancer
11-16-2006, 05:31 AM
You can, but it will change the tuning frequency.

geowick07
11-16-2006, 05:41 AM
ok, how would i go about changing the location without changing the frequency? maybe by keeping the same length, but cut the width in half? then, do the same thing on the other side.

SPL_Lancer
11-16-2006, 05:44 AM
You could try putting the port on another side of the box. Or have 2 ports, each with half the port area of the port you have now. Try moddeling that up and see how you go.